Midwest Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Loved this recipe. The Brisket was very flavorful. I put the brisket in the crock pot after marinating. I decided to cook in the crock pot since everything drys out in the oven so quickly in Colorado. I also included the marinade in the crockpot for extra moisture and flavor after boiling it for three minutes in case of bacteria. I also added a 1/2 cup of water and set my crock pot for 6 hrs. It was perfect! I have never cooked with Liquid Smoke before and loved the flavor. My company loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Good Lord!! Am I just this hungry or is this actually this tasty?! I think a little of both. I followed the recipe as written until it came time to cook it. I cooked it for 5 hours in my slow cooker (which does tend to run hotter than I believe it should). I got a wonderfully tender brisket, without the usual mushiness that I get from cooking roasts in the slow cooker. The flavor was wonderful, the texture was perfect. It's a keeper! The only thing I will try next time is to add pepper flakes or hot sauce to the marinade,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Recipe did not say whether to roast covered or not. I "tented" with aluminum foil as a compromise. My brisket was only 4 Lbs. so I cooked 1 hour less. I should have checked at 3-1/2 hours;it was starting to burn. I suspect the 5 star reviews had a fattier/more marbled brisket for more flavor. It did have a nice smoky flavor but nothing outstanding. I will try this one again with a fattier brisket or maybe in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Excellent blend of flavors. I had an 8 lb brisket so I almost doubled the marinade. I decided to "stab" the brisket with a sharp carving fork and then a sharp knife to allow the flavor of the marinade to penetrate throughout the meat. After having marinated in the refrigerator for about 18 hours I double wrapped the meat in heavy foil - placed in a roasting pan and baked at 225 for about 8 hours. Let cool in the foil - then set aside to cool before slicing. The juices were separated fat discarded and the juices boiled and reduced a bit. Really good flavor. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My brisket was closer to 12 lbs., but I had to cut it in half to fit it in my roasting pan. I did triple the marinade because there was SOOO much brisket. I covered it with foil (and sealed it really well) and let it cook all day long. It was so tender and flavorful...my hubby couldn't stop raving. I have tried other brisket recipes before that we liked, but this one is definitely going to the head of the pack! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
this is a great recipe! i realized i didn't have any garlic salt for the marinade, so i chopped up some fresh garlic and it worked just as well... the house smelled so good the whole time it was cooking...it reminded me and my family of grandma's great (lost) brisket recipe. i will definitely make this again, though i might cut the cooking time by 45min to an hour as i was hoping it would be moister, but all in all it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious! The only thing I would add is that be sure to cover when roasting in the oven (the instructions don't specify this) and add just a bit of water to the pan before roasting, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Wonderful flavor! We cooked it at 250 for 6 hours and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I served a 10lb brisket at my last cookout and it was a big success. It'll leave a very dirty pan, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Garretson-Bilnoski

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
LOVE IT! I followed this recipe exactly, with a 5lb brisket (for 12 people this was not enough, we all wanted more), marinated overnight (8pm-10am), put the brisket and marinade in a 5qt crock pot on top of an onion cut into 4 sections and added 1/2 cup of water to the bottom (I won't add the water next time). Cooked on low until 5pm and it was amazing!!! I used a little of the gravy and mixed with regular brown gravy mix so it wouldn't be too strong. Everyone requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States