Midnight Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I chose to make this cake for a small group of women where one lady was dairy intolerant. This was the PERFECT dessert for her, I didn't use the lemon glaze, choosing instead to make dairy free Chocolate peanut butter fudge frosting (1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup water, 1 cup sifted cocoa powder, 4 cups of confectioner sugar) -which really gave it a chocolate lovers appeal. Great cake recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Make sure you don't use all 2 oz. of the lemon juice, it makes the frosting way too runny. Use about 1 oz. and then add a tiny bit more mixing as you go to get the desired consistency. I followed the recipe to a T and ended up with a drooped center and really runny icing that didn't cover my cake very well. Otherwise, it tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I used Special Dark Cocoa as I am rather partial to dark chocolate taste and it turned out great. I like that it only makes one layer...doesn't leave you with too much to add to your waistline! Thanks...I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My mother made this same recipe for me back in the 50s. I continue to make it for my own birthday every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I love this recipe! I tried it because I was low on ingredients and desperately wanted chocolate cake, but it has become a favorite. I have not made it with the lemon icing, though; I always use chocolate. I actually get more than one layer out of it. This recipe yields two 8" layers, or one 8" layer and 6 cupcakes! So good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
I made this for an office party, and got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I love this cake! It is so moist and the lemon icing goes surprisingly well with it. I actually changed the recipe a little bit by making it 2 layers and put half of the icing in between. Everyone loves it! To make again on Halloween or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The only good thing about this cake was that is was very chocolatey.... It was okay but it was a bit dry and stuck to your throat as you swallowed. Definately went down better with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I thought this recipe was great. Very miost and the mixture of lemon and chocolate was great. i would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very good. Enjoyed this very much and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiehawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States