Midnight Moon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
I made this for an office party, and got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Make sure you don't use all 2 oz. of the lemon juice, it makes the frosting way too runny. Use about 1 oz. and then add a tiny bit more mixing as you go to get the desired consistency. I followed the recipe to a T and ended up with a drooped center and really runny icing that didn't cover my cake very well. Otherwise, it tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
they teast so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I thought this recipe was great. Very miost and the mixture of lemon and chocolate was great. i would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I love this cake! It is so moist and the lemon icing goes surprisingly well with it. I actually changed the recipe a little bit by making it 2 layers and put half of the icing in between. Everyone loves it! To make again on Halloween or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very moist. Has a sot of weird flavor. But, overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I chose to make this cake for a small group of women where one lady was dairy intolerant. This was the PERFECT dessert for her, I didn't use the lemon glaze, choosing instead to make dairy free Chocolate peanut butter fudge frosting (1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup water, 1 cup sifted cocoa powder, 4 cups of confectioner sugar) -which really gave it a chocolate lovers appeal. Great cake recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I used Special Dark Cocoa as I am rather partial to dark chocolate taste and it turned out great. I like that it only makes one layer...doesn't leave you with too much to add to your waistline! Thanks...I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I love this recipe! I tried it because I was low on ingredients and desperately wanted chocolate cake, but it has become a favorite. I have not made it with the lemon icing, though; I always use chocolate. I actually get more than one layer out of it. This recipe yields two 8" layers, or one 8" layer and 6 cupcakes! So good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made this for a little party with some friends. Alot of people ate it but none of them finished this pieces. I liked it, but didn't seem to be much of a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States