Midnight Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These do not taste like cookies at all. They're okay, if you aren't expecting them to taste like gingersnaps. I don't plan to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnkB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made these just as written. Unfortunately, I cooked them too long (longer than the directions called for). They came out very soft but hardened. And I definitely only got half the amount of cookies the recipe called for, even though I made them extremely small. The cookies don't spread. Great flavor, but be careful not to use too much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Awesome cookies! A must try! I added a bit more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These cookies were a little too rich with butter for my taste. I liked the spice but I would prefer more "snap" to my gingersnaps. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Nice cookies. I omitted the cayenne as I can't handle it and upped the ginger to a well-rounded tsp. I also rolled them in confectioner's sugar. They're better warm, but still very good once they're cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made them without the ceyanne, cloves and nutmeg because I didn't have any and they were a little bland but not bad. Also, making each cookie 2 tablespoons is two big. I only got about 12 cookies and they were kind of burnt on the bottom and doughy on the top. I would say about 1 teaspoon and also watch them closely so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These came out absolutely delicious! I liked the kick, but I added a bit of extra ginger to get it. Also, molasses isn't sold where I live, so I had to substitute pure maple syrup for it and they still came out great. There weren't as many as the recipe said there would be, so maybe I'll make them smaller the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Decent, but skip the cayenne pepper and roll them in sugar before baking. Makes little bite-sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are old school cookies.For those whose taste buds are burned up!!!A LOT of spice in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beets442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States