Middle Eastern White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SilentStarlight
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was a simple and tasty bean dish. I didn't have pimentos, but I will try to use them next time I make this. I think I'm going to add this to my dinner rotation. It reminded me of the fassoulia plaki that I've had at an Armenian restaurant. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I haven't tried this version yet, but so happy to have found this! An Iraqi restaurant near my house serves this with basmati rice and shwarma. Its my favorite so thanks for the recipe!! Now if only I could make shwarma at home my life would be complete!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Okay but not completely satisfied with the texture of the beans... Flavor was a little funky too and I suspect that was the result of the crockpot. Will try it again cooking it on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Betterton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
made this in my creuset saute pan. sauteed the onion and garlic with the spices to start, then added the tomato paste, and then the rest. i didn't have pimento sauce, so i whirred up some jarred roasted red peppers to substitute. we also like things a bit spicy so i doubled the cumin and added some cayenne. served with brown rice pasta and a side of steamed broccoli - DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!! this is going in the rotation for sure! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a great dish, lots of flavor and the white kidney bean is a natural starch carb blocker. I would advise that you follow the measurements and avoid “eyeballing” it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Not only is this recipe easy but it is also inexpensive and tasty. For the pimento sauce I put jarred pimentos in the food processor to create a paste. It turned out wonderful, thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was really bland and the rice made it even more so. I ended up throwing thiese out. Not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I didn't think there was anything special with this recipe. The sauce was bland and not worth the effort. Sorry, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was great! I have made it several times. I sometimes add some smoked kelbasa sausage cut into medallions. Very good - my kids ask for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I haven't made this but plan on making it for our supper club dinner this Saturday. I need to know before so I can get all the ingredients - what is pimento sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States