Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Flavor was right on. Shaped into mini burger patties instead and pan fried. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Flavor is a 3 star-good not special. But it gets an extra star for being easy and healthy. I will make again. I served it w/ greek yogart-sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Pretty interesting. It's a very middle eastern flavor which might be too strong for Americans unused to such cooking. I like the idea of patties better than tubes and put yogurt cucumber sauce on. Actually I think it would even be good with mustard and sour pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Pretty good. I liked, but, no one else was that crazy about it. I love shish kafta & these are kind of like it. I served the turkey tubes in pita bread (pulled apart so you just roll up everything in one side) with tomato, lettuce, tzatziki sauce & a thinly sliced pickle (like I get them back home). I would make these for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These are very good and easy to prepare. I think they take a little longer to cook than the recipe states. I just check them after about 10 minutes with a meat thermometer and put them back in for a few more minutes if needed. I have made them several times and have made a few additions according to my own personal tastes but they are still very good when made as the recipe directs. I grate about 4 T of onion on a cheese grater and add that to the ground turkey (I think this gives them a little more moisture, I do this when I make meat balls and hamburgers too). I also add about 1/2 cup of wheat bulger (plumped in warm water then drained) this adds a little lightness to the turkey and I think makes them bit more authentic. I up the seasonings just a bit to compensate for the addition of the bulger. Very good, quick and healthy dish. One of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caruthers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I had to use up some ground turkey, followed this recipe to the "T", and we thought it was pretty darn good. i don't see why it can't be in hamburger form either. We liked the combination of spices a lot., thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
YUMMY! I made these for dinner tonight and I LOVED them! I served them in a whole wheat pita with lettuce, tomato, feta cheese, and homemade lowfat tzatziki sauce. I only used about 3/4 teaspoon of each spice and subbed dried cilantro for the ground coriander because I didn't have coriander on hand. Absolutely fabulous, and healthy to boot! I'd make this recipe again in a heartbeat! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe. Tried this last night and my husband didn't sound too enthused when I told him what I was making, but he was convinced afterwards. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. Great flavor and something a lot more flavorful to do with ground turkey. I'm going to make a large batch next time and freeze some for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My husband and I ate these but didn''t really care for them. My kids wouldn't touch them. Lots of remarks about the unappetizing appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is very good and simple to make.But needs a sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States