Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I made it with some quinoa and veggies with the same spices as a side dish and some spicy banana ketchup. The recipe for the banana ketchup needs a little work but it sure did go amazingly with the turkey dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My kids absolutely loved this. I served on oblong shaped naan, so I shaped the turkey into ovals and served with yogurt/cucumber/dill/garlic/lemon sauce. My kids ate it like a sandwich while my husband stacked everything & used a fork. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Woah! I took a bite, dipped into a bit of thick, whole-fat yogurt and I swear, my socks went flying across the room they were knocked so hard! I cooked mine entirely in a skillet just for ease. It took longer than the recipe said to get it brown. It's possible that med. on my stove isn't like the poster's stove. That said, I also used pork instead of turkey. I'm finicky about the quality of my meat and the only "all natural" ground white meat I could find was pork. I'd make this recipe with any white meat and will likely next time serve it with a rich tzadziki instead of plain yogurt. As a side I ate baked kale chips, also found on this site. Not exactly authentic, but delicious and satisfying. This recipe will be making a regular occurrence in this house. Thanks so much for sharing! UPDATE: I had to share that I just ate the leftovers for breakfast. I only had two left and I don't use a microwave so I ate them cold. Still FANTASTIC. I think I'll be making these again next week! Maybe twice, even. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
These were amazing! I flattened them rather than made tubes, and pan-fried like mini-hamburgers. Bf had seconds and couldn't stop talking about them. Served on a thick pita with a yogurt/garlic/lemon sauce. Maybe could have used some chopped tomato like the gyros. I'm definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought these were sooo yummy and flavorful. Picky DH said they were pretty good. 6 yo son told me they tasted like old man, lol!! I would make them again. I decreased the cinnimon because I use a very very strong cin.! Tasty new twist on ground turkey! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made these twice. The first time I only used garlic and cumin to season the turkey dogs - my husband and i loved it, but the kids didn't like it. The second time I just added garlic and some Italian seasoning and the kids took to it! I only baked the turkey dogs and did not fry them. I placed them on the ends of skewers and my kids loved the idea of having "dogs on a stick!" I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I tweaked these just a bit to suit my family's tastes-- I used only about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and added some garlic powder and onion powder. Also, the package of turkey was slightly larger than one pound-- it was 20 ounces. I mixed up the meat and spices and let it sit for about 30 mins, then made small patties out of it (hubby said they looked like sliders) and cooked them in a non-stick skillet. Tasty, especially with some tahini dressing I had on hand! I'll definitely be making this again-- always looking for a way to eat less red meat and this was *so* quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a good way to spice up ground turkey. I served it with honey mustard, tomato, onion, and avocado. I kept the spice measurements the same but grilled it. All in all, it was pretty moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I fried these on a no stick skillet instead of baking them. The spices combine well to make great tasting turkey! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. These are awesome! Tried it on a hot dog bun with the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States