Middle Eastern Turkey Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as stated except I bought a package of 1.25lb ground turkey and did patties rather than dogs. Next time I make this (very soon) I am going add a bit more spice to make up for the amount of turkey. My girls 9 & 11 scarfed it down! My hubby is out of town and when he gets home I am going to make this again! Served with sliced red onion, tzatziki, feta and whole wheat pita. Forgot to halve the cherry tomatoes I had or would have thrown those in too! Delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Absolutely delicious, even hubby loved these! Instead of cinnamon I used chili power and paprika. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper for some zing! I eye balled all of the spices but I definitely used less than 1 tsp. of ginger -- I didn't want to over power the rest of the ingredients. I served these in a pita topped with caramelized onions and tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
great spice combination; I add a little more cumin. great with yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made it into little meatballs hoping the kids would eat them with toothpicks, but it wasn't a hit with them. That just meant more for me! I will make it again for me and the hubs, but not for the kids until their taste buds grow up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Easy and excellent. I served these with some yogurt and dill dipping sauce and plain rice. The rice took longer to prepare and cook than these "Turkey Dogs". If you are a fan of Middle Eastern food and are short on time and supplies, but not spices, then this is the meal to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItazuraStrikes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This smelled good while it was cooking and was easy to make. They have a tasty, interesting flavor. I will make it again. I served it with a avocado,tomato, lettuce salad with feta vinaigrette; and a slice of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Didnt have coriander so used garlic powder 1 tsp, 1/4 cup olive oil, ground 1 medium onion as other user said for moistness. Fried flattened balls in olive oil til brown on both sides and were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Definetly use the ground turkey with a higher fat content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was really good. I used large tsp amounts because I love strong flavours and I made mini loaves and as others suggested, put them in pitas with tzatziki, onions, tomatoes and they were sooo yummy! Thanks! Definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Wow, wow, WOW! I was looking for something a little different to do with my ground turkey last night for dinner and decided to try this recipe. I was a little leary of it, because I'm extremely new to the idea of using cinnamon in main dishes instead of just in baked goods, so I was concerned by a couple reviews saying the cinnamon was overpowering. After talking with a couple people on The Buzz, I decided to go for it and make the recipe as-written, except I shaped the meat differently. I copied the idea of the reviewer who flattened the meat and just fried it (no baking needed, since the flat patties cooked completely through in the frying pan). I served it on pita bread with Tzatziki Sauce I from here at AllRecipes, shredded romaine lettuce, and sliced fresh tomatoes from our garden. My daughter, my fiance, and I all agree this recipe is a definite keeper and will absolutely be part of our regular rotation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States