Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
WOW this recipe was amazing! I sauteed a small onion with the garlic and used curry powder instead of the coriander and tumeric, because the first two ingredients of curry powder are coriander and tumeric!!! I also halved the recipe and it was perfect for about 5 people. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes and some sliced olives. Don't bother using one whole bunch of parsley and cilantro, I just used about 2 tbsp. of each and it was PLENTY!!! If I would have used anymore, it would have been overpowering. My hubby loved this recipe and he is so picky and hard to please, so when he says something is good, it must be really good!!! Thanks so much for the recipe! Next time I make it I will try grilled chicken pieces instead of the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was very good. I used jasmine rice. I halved the recipe and used 2c of vegetable broth (even though that amount of rice called for 1.5 cups of liquid.) I liked the pine nuts -- it added a nice crunch to the texture of chickpeas, rice and beans. I used grilled chicken instead of ground meat. I also served Chris J's tzatziki sauce in his Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style recipe on this site (minus the cucumber). I warmed pitas on the grill with the chicken (only a minute or so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This recipe was one of the best I've tried in a long time. Fragrant and delicious. One thing I will do next time is to cut the chicken stock down a bit, as the dish came out a bit watery (but then, my weather conditions in the mountains more than likely contributed to this!). Thanks for this awesome recipe, I served it with a tomato, avocado and feta salad to rave reviews from the homefront.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I made this with bacon, drained off the fat and just used the residual grease in the pan to saute the rice. I also only included one can of beans each. Two would have been overkill. Delish! Even our toddler liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I loved this--I love this flavor and the recipe was great. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I made it as written with the exception of pine nuts. We loved it. Really loved it. I think it would do well with a variety of meats. Next time I'll try boneless/skinless chicken. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Booby Hill, Saba, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Loved this! Subbed ground lamb as suggested in the recipe description. Lamb just seemed a better fit to me for this dish. Omitted the coriander, tumeric, and cilantro but otherwise followed the recipe. The rice was kind of soupy with all that chicken broth...I cooked it for about 15 minutes longer. I think I'll cut back on the chicken stock in the future to the amount listed on the rice box. If you can find it, try this with Greek yogurt (Trader Joe's is the only place I've been able to find it). Otherwise, use some plain unsweetened yogurt...really accents the dish well. Yum, yum! Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
healthy and easy to make. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye Bunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Yum... The only thing I changed was adding an onion to the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I make this recipe vegetarian by leaving out the turkey and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I also add a coarsely chopped onion. I love it!!! I eat it for dinner, then have leftovers for lunch a couple days. I've also frozen it with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States