Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
WOW this recipe was amazing! I sauteed a small onion with the garlic and used curry powder instead of the coriander and tumeric, because the first two ingredients of curry powder are coriander and tumeric!!! I also halved the recipe and it was perfect for about 5 people. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes and some sliced olives. Don't bother using one whole bunch of parsley and cilantro, I just used about 2 tbsp. of each and it was PLENTY!!! If I would have used anymore, it would have been overpowering. My hubby loved this recipe and he is so picky and hard to please, so when he says something is good, it must be really good!!! Thanks so much for the recipe! Next time I make it I will try grilled chicken pieces instead of the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I make this recipe vegetarian by leaving out the turkey and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I also add a coarsely chopped onion. I love it!!! I eat it for dinner, then have leftovers for lunch a couple days. I've also frozen it with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
For more flavor, I doubled the amount of spices, and then drizzled cilantro-spiked yogurt sauce on top (2 cups plain whole-milk yogurt, 3/4 c finely chopped cilantro, 2 tbsp lemon juice)- a MUST. I also added roasted cauliflower (tossed in oil, salt & pepper, 450 for 30 min, then 500 for 10 until caramelized) and melted onions (with oil, low heat 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Yum. This will go into regular rotation. I only used one can of chicken broth, and one can of each of the beans. Makes a lot of food! Served with pita bread, and a romaine, tomato, and feta salad. Stuffed it all in the pita and topped with plain yogurt. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was an excellent recipe! The only thing I did differently was to add spinach with the beans. I served it on a piece of naan (Indian flatbread) and topped it with a dollop of yogurt and a squeeze of lemon, which brilliantly accentuated the flavors of this dish. My husband loved it, and he is not normally a fan of beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Ate it with plain yoghurt on the side like my Iranian friend does. Ground Turkey is unavailable where I live, so had to make it with ground beef. Next time I would brown the beef with some of the spices as browned by itself the beef is bland. (That was the only reason I didn't give 5 stars.) In Middle Eastern cooking spinach is often utilized as a herb with cilantro and parsley so for extra vitamins I'm going to add that next time.....and there will be a next time and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
1. Definitely cut down on the chicken broth/stock; I used about 2.5 cups for 1 cup of rice. 2. Just one can of each of the beans. 3. Like another reviewer, I added onion with the garlic. This recipe isn't bland by any stretch, but I agree that it's a good idea to cook the turkey in spices as well as the rice. I'll do that next time. And I found a good handful of parsley and cilantro to be a good amount for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This recipe was one of the best I've tried in a long time. Fragrant and delicious. One thing I will do next time is to cut the chicken stock down a bit, as the dish came out a bit watery (but then, my weather conditions in the mountains more than likely contributed to this!). Thanks for this awesome recipe, I served it with a tomato, avocado and feta salad to rave reviews from the homefront.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Wow...VERY good! I subbed spices with 1-1/2tsp Curry powder, omitted the turkey (vegetarian) & parsley (none on hand), added 1/4C chopped purple onion as rice sautes. The aroma this dish has while cooking is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Loved this! Subbed ground lamb as suggested in the recipe description. Lamb just seemed a better fit to me for this dish. Omitted the coriander, tumeric, and cilantro but otherwise followed the recipe. The rice was kind of soupy with all that chicken broth...I cooked it for about 15 minutes longer. I think I'll cut back on the chicken stock in the future to the amount listed on the rice box. If you can find it, try this with Greek yogurt (Trader Joe's is the only place I've been able to find it). Otherwise, use some plain unsweetened yogurt...really accents the dish well. Yum, yum! Thanks for the delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States