Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I love this meal. It is perfect served with a little Balkan yogurt and some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Wasn't bad the first day, but really disliked the texture in leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
It's ok. IT tastes similar to the Kitchari recipe I found on here. I used beef broth (half the amount) and added yogurt at the end. I also subbed curry powder for the coriander and tumeric. I think next time I'll only do 1/2 t of red pepper though...it was a little spicy for me (since I don't eat super spicy stuff much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Any spicier and it would be too hot, but as is...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Don't be afraid to use a lot of cilantro and parsley. It adds a lot. I used 99% fat free ground turkey - a little more than the recipe called for. Omitted pine nuts because they're expensive. I also highly recommend adding vegetables to make this a fully rounded meal. I added shredded carrots and spinach, and meant to add mushrooms but forgot I had them. Used brown basmati rice, cooked in the rice cooker. Overall, this was a good, very healthy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Oh my YES!!! This is delicious! I used ground pork and seasoned it as it cooked. I doubled the spices, used a tad less stock, and omitted the pine nuts. I dressed it with yoghurt tinged with lime, cayenne, and cumin...WONDERFUL!!! And soooo healthy!!! Thanks you for sharing this GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really liked this. I only had one can each of chickpeas and black beans so I added in a can of kidney beans and it was still wonderful! Easy to make ahead too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
DH and I thought it was very good, but the kids thought it was too spicy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tareesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
rice simply did not good up well in that much liquid... came out soupy. otherwise may have been pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Alone-this dish was a bit bland. However, I made some Raita to top it off and it was wonderful! Raita is a yougurt, cumin, garlic and cayenne pepper sauce often used in Indian cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States