Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I love it, my kids ate it up. I had no changes to make. I served with toasted pitas and will make it again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love this dish. I cut it in half and use veggie crumbles rather than turkey. I do use the full amount of cayenne pepper to get that extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Turned out great. Great middle eastern flavors. I used 1/2 the cilantro (husband does not like) and added 11/2 of chopped baby spinach. Will be in our favorite meal rotation. Froze leftovers in single serving portions. My husband liked it so well I don't think it will last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was a wonderful base recipe! The flavor turns out relatively mild, so I'd recommend increasing the cumin and coriander. Turmeric can be a little overwhelming if you use too much, so I didn't increase the amount. I added fresh spinach at the end and served it with cilantro and paprika yogurt. Which I believe someone else did without the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amergin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I liked this recipe, but I didn't love it. I thought it was a good way to stretch a pound of ground beef and it made a lot of food. I thought the fresh cilantro in it brightened the flavor, but next time I think I would put some raisins or dried apricots in it. I also thought the cayenne gave it a nice kick, but wonder if a lot of folks thought it might be to spicy. I also had to add a lot of salt to the final dish. I was very flat without it. I kept thinking it was missing something. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very Good. I halved the recipe, didn't have basmati rice-subbed Jasmine rice, didn't have chickpeas - subbed cannellini beans, used ground lamb and followed the rest of the recipe. Very delicious with lamb. A little soupy which is just perfect for a cold night. It is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
great as a vegetarian entree. Doubled all spices except cayenne. Added 1/2 can tomato sauce and 1/2 c. raisins, topped with fresh tomatoes and yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a wonderfully, different use for ground turkey, rice and beans. I modified the recipe a bit based some of the reviews and it came out great! My 6-year-old said: "I don't know what you are making, but it smells great". It tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful recipe...I reduced it down to serve 5 and still had leftovers! Reducing the broth to 2 cups for 1/2 cup rice. Subbed curry seasoning for corriander and tumeric but kept recommended cayenne and cumin for the rice. I followed several suggestions about seasoning the turkey while browning with the following: 1/2 tsp curry seasoning 1/4 tsp cumin 1/4 tsp cayenne Sea salt and pepper Turkey was seasoned well but will add a bit more sea salt next time. Also, whipped up a quick tatziki with Greek yogurt, mint and garlic to top. Yummy dish - my family has asked that I make once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States