Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Full of flavor! We don't eat much meat and left it out - didn't even miss it, a great dish for vegetarians too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
We made this for a pot luck and many people asked for the recipe. I used ground chicken breast and put half of the spices on the chicken while frying it. This rice is good enough to eat without the meat, beans and chickpeas if you are looking for a flavorful rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixisue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Interesting textural contrasts between the meat and beans and rice. I felt like it was missing something, though, and I haven't tried it again with anything added yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! Love it! We make it about once a week now. Instead of using all those different spices I just throw in some curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I halved this recipe for 4 people but I kept the spice level the same...so in a way I doubled the spices - I loved it! What I did was use half the seasoning on the rice and the other on the beef ( I used beef) so they both would have flavour throughout. It's great with some plain yogurt or sour cream....yum yum yum. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Delicious. I used brown rice instead of basmati so it took longer to cook. Didn't have cilantro or pine nuts but bet they would be awesome! Served with a whole wheat pita, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I didn't have any of the 'optional' cilantro, but I wish I did. The flavour definitely would have added to the dish. My whole family (kids and all) really loved this dish, but I'm only giving it 4 stars as opposed to 5 because serving it with yogurt or sour cream is so essential to the finished product that I feel it should be written into the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
We really liked this. I made it without meat and only used 1 can each of chickpeas and black beans. I also only used 2 cups of chicken stock (as indicated by the bag of rice). The flavor was fantastic, but next time I would cut back on the cayenne pepper (and we usually love spicy foods)! As suggested by one reviewer I served this with cilantro yogurt, which my husband loved. Next time I will add the meat and also make some naan to serve with it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I halved the recipe and used the ingredients I had on hand. Cooked the turkey with half an onion and the spices (cumin, curry, turmeric, parsley and some red chili flakes). Only used about a cup of chicken broth. Added some cooked rice at the end. From my experience, this is a forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States