Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Mmmm this was so good! Really loved the combination of flavors! Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Loved it! The only change I made was to use coarsely chopped pistachios instead of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Delicious, will make again! I made a few changes, but I don't think it affected the main idea of the dish. I halved the recipe but used 1 lb of ground pork (instead of 3/4 lb ground turkey). I browned the meat with the garlic and spices. I used cooked rice because that's all I had and eyeballed the amount of chicken stock, adding just enough to keep everything moist without drowning it. I used the cilantro and parsley but not the pine nuts (didn't have any). I think it would be great garnished with chopped fresh veggies, such as red onion, tomato, avocado or others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
EXCELLENT meal...very tasty...at first before adding the beans it was toooo hot and spicy and I was even going to discard however i decided to add some coconut milk and added the beans and it turned out quite well...it was not overly spicey but very flavorful...even my father enjoyed it and he couldnt care less for the foods that I cook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Halved the recipe and added onion, but found it to be very bland tasting. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by riclee19
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
replaced ground turkey with turkey bacon since I did not have any. good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riclee19
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I haven't eaten very much middle eastern food and I certainly hadn't cooked it before, but my friend wanted to have a middle eastern meal so I found this recipe. It was a huge hit! I was really outside of my comfort zone when I cooked this and I used spices that I had never used before, but it was so easy and the taste was incredible. Next time I make it, I've decided to add some fresh spinach. This is the kind of dish that you can add different things to. I've never used coriander or turmeric before, but I really enjoyed using them and the taste is sensational. This will be a recipe I use and reuse again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Not horible but very bland. It was just missing something. Maybe seasoning the meat would be a better idea but I did not like the taste enough to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Delicious. My first attempt at middle eastern cooking and it was a big hit. Thank you for sharing! Didn't have enough rice so I added lentils to make up the difference but other than that I followed the recipe as written. I did garnish with tomatoes and another reviewers yogurt sauce. This recipe will be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States