Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
5 stars because it was delicious and all my kids ate it up! I wanted didn't want to use meat, so I left out the turkey, but I am definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A little spicy Added yogurt on side to cut the zip. Could reduce the cayenne to 3/4 or 1/2 t and add back as desired. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
When it comes to flavor, this was spot on. I made some adjustments per other reviews I read, such as using 1 can of broth, using curry powder in place of the other two spices, and cooking the chicken with the rice. The only problem I had with the recipe was the rice. It took much longer than the said 20 minutes for it to even get soft. Instead, it sat on our burner for over an hour, and that is only after cranking up the heat. Not really sure what went wrong. Used the basamati rice, unless it was because it came straight from the freezer. If anyone knows, it would be helpful to know, because I'd really like to make this again---but not with the time involved. Still had to give it four stars, because other than the rice, it was really good! Btw, I used chicken instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Wow! Fantastic flavors, ingredients are easily adjusted to your taste/availability. I used what I had around the house- dried blk beans, soaked then cooked in broth and spice; sauteed onions & carrots, mixed with brown rice and spice and broth (45 min); about half a lb each ground turkey & turkey bacon with spices; added some corn, and served on a bed of spinach topped with toasted sesame seeds. Since I used the spices in each element seperately, who KNOWS how much I used, lol! Since it received rave reviews from my kids- 4, 8 &10- as well as adults, it must be a keeper!! Thanks so much for a new twist on beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Mmmm this was so good! Really loved the combination of flavors! Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Loved it! The only change I made was to use coarsely chopped pistachios instead of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Delicious, will make again! I made a few changes, but I don't think it affected the main idea of the dish. I halved the recipe but used 1 lb of ground pork (instead of 3/4 lb ground turkey). I browned the meat with the garlic and spices. I used cooked rice because that's all I had and eyeballed the amount of chicken stock, adding just enough to keep everything moist without drowning it. I used the cilantro and parsley but not the pine nuts (didn't have any). I think it would be great garnished with chopped fresh veggies, such as red onion, tomato, avocado or others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
EXCELLENT meal...very tasty...at first before adding the beans it was toooo hot and spicy and I was even going to discard however i decided to add some coconut milk and added the beans and it turned out quite well...it was not overly spicey but very flavorful...even my father enjoyed it and he couldnt care less for the foods that I cook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Halved the recipe and added onion, but found it to be very bland tasting. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States