Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have to give this full stars because my 8- and 10- year-old kids who don't seem to like anything really like this. My husband and I do, too. We're keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was pretty good, although a little on the bland side. We liked it enough to make it again sometime, but I think I will probably tweak it a bit. Maybe I will try seasoning the meat with the spices and that might help. This was a very filling recipe, and made TONS so if you're wanting to feed a bunch of people this would be a good recipe to do that with. My two year old ate it right up, but my five year old kind of picked at it and ended up not eating the chick peas or much of the rice. He seemed to like the turkey and back beans really well. This will be a good recipe to take with me to work for lunches the rest of the week because it is filling, but it won't leave me feeling too overstuffed. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us, JULIEP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I had such high hopes for this with it's high ratings, but I should have read the reviews first in regards to the amount of chicken stock it calls for. The rice turned out like complete mush, and even after powering through the texture issue the meal was very bland...me nor my husband could eat it. The kids wouldn't even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious healthy meal. My husband even liked it! I used ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Fantastic. Going to make this a regular on the menu. Entire family loved it, including two teen-age boys. Will reduce the amount of chicken broth, as the rice was more wet than I like. Excellent flavor. I didn't measure spices so I might have been on the heavy side with them. Might add some sautéed onion to it next time and possibly some spinach or chard. I left out the turkey and nobody missed it. This is a great recipe as is or to tweek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was very yummy! I added a small chopped onion to the garlic, used less coriander and cayenne, and I only used one can of garbanzo beans. Next time I will probably only use one can of black beans as well. I also added a little curry powder to the turkey. REALLY good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
5 stars because it was delicious and all my kids ate it up! I wanted didn't want to use meat, so I left out the turkey, but I am definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A little spicy Added yogurt on side to cut the zip. Could reduce the cayenne to 3/4 or 1/2 t and add back as desired. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
When it comes to flavor, this was spot on. I made some adjustments per other reviews I read, such as using 1 can of broth, using curry powder in place of the other two spices, and cooking the chicken with the rice. The only problem I had with the recipe was the rice. It took much longer than the said 20 minutes for it to even get soft. Instead, it sat on our burner for over an hour, and that is only after cranking up the heat. Not really sure what went wrong. Used the basamati rice, unless it was because it came straight from the freezer. If anyone knows, it would be helpful to know, because I'd really like to make this again---but not with the time involved. Still had to give it four stars, because other than the rice, it was really good! Btw, I used chicken instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Wow! Fantastic flavors, ingredients are easily adjusted to your taste/availability. I used what I had around the house- dried blk beans, soaked then cooked in broth and spice; sauteed onions & carrots, mixed with brown rice and spice and broth (45 min); about half a lb each ground turkey & turkey bacon with spices; added some corn, and served on a bed of spinach topped with toasted sesame seeds. Since I used the spices in each element seperately, who KNOWS how much I used, lol! Since it received rave reviews from my kids- 4, 8 &10- as well as adults, it must be a keeper!! Thanks so much for a new twist on beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States