Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I cut the cayenne way down for the kids and made it without meat. Nice flavor - next time I'll make it more soupy. The chickpeas are an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very homely dish. I used about 2 cups of chicken broth for the rice. Can be a great side dish without the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Exchanged smoked paprika for cayenne. Only added one can of garbanzo beans. Handful of cilantro and a little less parsley. Perfect for packed lunch and improves as leftovers! I made it without meat. I also made a version with brown rice I had soaked overnight, and that worked well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
i made this almost exactly as written except for extra garlic and only one pound ground meat. as suggested i topped with greek yogurt. i love it and next time will add some onion. it is very spicy and dont understand how people could say it is bland. the recipe makes enough to feed a small army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I really liked this dish. I followed the recipe with a substitution of toasted pepitas for the pine nuts. This could easily be made vegetarian and that is the main reason I chose it, but we added turkey as written this go 'round. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Nice recipe! Like some others I left out meat because I didn't have anyon hand, so I reduced the turmeric & cayenne for that reason. Also halved the recipe & added some chopped onion & red bell pepper. Without meat, using 1 can each of chickpeas & black beans was fine with 1/2 cup raw rice. Had no fresh parsley or cilantro so added some dried to the cooking rice, as well as some frozen chopped spinach. I would like to try with ground meat & the fresh green herbs next time.Would also reduce liquid a bit. Very flexible & tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
DELICIOUS!! Did as others suggested and added 1/2 onion, 2-3 cups spinach, only 1/4 cup parsley and 1/4 cup cilantro, and seasoned turkey before browning. My family loved it. Will be a regular weeknight meal....SO QUICK TO MAKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this vegetarian since it has two kinds of beans and doesn't need meat. I grate a large carrot and add it with the rice and spices. At the end, I add in 1/2 cup of golden raisins along with the toasted pine nuts and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
The ratio of water to rice was waaaaay off. I adjusted for 16 servings for a family meal and tt had me add 8cups of stock to 2 cups of uncooked rice. Which was a complete fail. The rice came out way too mushy. I should've just used common sense and for 2 cups of rice I would have only needed 3.5 c liquid. MAYBE....4 cups but in trying to follow the recipe I used the 8 and ended up with MUSH!! Tasty MUSH but MUSH nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved this! I followed the advice of some others and only used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of chickpeas and only 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock. I also only used half the amount of cayenne called for and served it with homemade pita bread. Such a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States