Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans Haiku: "No less than 5 stars! Really, this blew us away! Good with garnishes." Halved the recipe for 2 adults, 1 child, and skipped on the chick peas. Didn't have turmeric, so used a little curry. Definitely didn't skip the optional cilantro! Served ours topped w/ plain Greek yogurt, toasted walnuts (cheaper than pine nuts and more versatile, IMO), diced cucumber, Sriracha, and additional cilantro. This tasted like something I'd order at a Persian restaurant that I adore in Atlanta - not difficult to put together at all and certainly in the keeper file now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe, very tasty - I took a reviewer's advice and eat it with some Greek yogurt, and it's always delicious. I also cook the turkey in with the rice because I'm lazy and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Just made this dish mad loved it! I used 3 1/2 cups of chicken stock. I didn't have two cans of black beans but that was okay it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharry Akin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was great!I followed the advice of others and doubled the spices, using 1/2 for the rice and 1/2 for the meat. I also sauteed up some onions with the garlic at the beginning. I wouldn't reduce the amount of broth, as mine came out great as written. It definitely would have been too dry otherwise. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Based on other reviews, I,too, reduced the chicken broth to 2 1/2 cups. Added chopped onion as well. We loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good with Naan. I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. That was good amount for the kids. I would add less meat next time (1/2 lb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good! Such a change to throw in your weekend meals or even weekday. My husband and 15 year old son loved it, my 14 year old daughter enjoyed it but had to have it with sour cream because it was too spicy. If someone doesn't like spicy than hold out on the cayenne pepper. All other spices are phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't measure the spices but I know I used a lot more than the recipe called for. I also added curry powder. I cut the recipe in half and it made a ton of food. It's very tasty and I am sure will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe, I've made a few changes here and there. I've added corn sometimes among other things, but I keep coming back to it. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Very good! I didn't have coriander, but it was seasoned nicely anyway. As recommended, I cut down stock (I used vegetable stock to accommodate my vegetarian daughter) to about 3 cups. I'd also didn't use pine nuts (not in the pantry) and used only one can of each bean. My chef husband thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States