Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was really great and so easy because you can modify it to include whatever you've got in your fridge and pantry pretty easily. I had leftover cooked quinoa that I used instead of the rice and I put in chopped green pepper and onion for an extra veg. I didn't have chickpeas so I used white kidney beans instead. All in all you can make this your own, different each time if you want and the base of the recipe will be a staple for me from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
A good and simple recipe. With some modifications it will definitely become a regular in my kitchen. It needs more spice, perhaps some mint and a spoon of yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tarasovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Absolutely a great dish. Something we Wii have often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe, will be making this over and over. But I did make some changes: 1. I made it with quinoa instead of rice. 2. I added some yellow diced onion to the quinoa. 3. And added a handful of torn spinach when it was done cooking. 4. As other people mentioned I only used one can each of black beans. And instead of garbanzo,I used one can of white beans. 5. I used only 3T of cilantro 6. 3T of parsley. I served it with a big green romaine salad of tomato and feet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Came out well enough, but I'd recommend leaving out the meat and just using it as a side dish instead. If you do want the meet, I'd advise against turkey, which disappeared among the spices. The specified recipe will make A LOT--living alone, I'm finding it hard to go through all the leftovers before it goes bad. As a side dish, I'd say it's enough for more than a dozen people, and even as an entree it could probably feed 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was fabulous. I didn't expect my kids to enjoy it so much with all the parsley and cilantro, but they did. I added sautéed onion and mushrooms with the garlic. I also sautéed the parsley in a little butter and lemon juice from half a lemon before I added it to the mixture. I went sparingly on the cayenne pepper and didn't have pine nuts. We set greek yogurt and salsa on the table for anyone to add to it. We preferred the salsa with it. Tomatoes are definitely a compliment to this dish. We will eat this again. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious!I omitted the turkey since I'm vegetarian and added roasted cauliflower. I followed suggestions to cut down on the broth, so only used 2 cups. So, so good! Added a spoonful of plain yogurt to the top to finish the dish. My 5 year old had 2 huge platefuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I cut the cayenne way down for the kids and made it without meat. Nice flavor - next time I'll make it more soupy. The chickpeas are an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very homely dish. I used about 2 cups of chicken broth for the rice. Can be a great side dish without the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Exchanged smoked paprika for cayenne. Only added one can of garbanzo beans. Handful of cilantro and a little less parsley. Perfect for packed lunch and improves as leftovers! I made it without meat. I also made a version with brown rice I had soaked overnight, and that worked well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States