Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was great!I followed the advice of others and doubled the spices, using 1/2 for the rice and 1/2 for the meat. I also sauteed up some onions with the garlic at the beginning. I wouldn't reduce the amount of broth, as mine came out great as written. It definitely would have been too dry otherwise. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Based on other reviews, I,too, reduced the chicken broth to 2 1/2 cups. Added chopped onion as well. We loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good with Naan. I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. That was good amount for the kids. I would add less meat next time (1/2 lb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good! Such a change to throw in your weekend meals or even weekday. My husband and 15 year old son loved it, my 14 year old daughter enjoyed it but had to have it with sour cream because it was too spicy. If someone doesn't like spicy than hold out on the cayenne pepper. All other spices are phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't measure the spices but I know I used a lot more than the recipe called for. I also added curry powder. I cut the recipe in half and it made a ton of food. It's very tasty and I am sure will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe, I've made a few changes here and there. I've added corn sometimes among other things, but I keep coming back to it. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Very good! I didn't have coriander, but it was seasoned nicely anyway. As recommended, I cut down stock (I used vegetable stock to accommodate my vegetarian daughter) to about 3 cups. I'd also didn't use pine nuts (not in the pantry) and used only one can of each bean. My chef husband thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Get Cookin
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Yummy added to recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe was really great and so easy because you can modify it to include whatever you've got in your fridge and pantry pretty easily. I had leftover cooked quinoa that I used instead of the rice and I put in chopped green pepper and onion for an extra veg. I didn't have chickpeas so I used white kidney beans instead. All in all you can make this your own, different each time if you want and the base of the recipe will be a staple for me from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
A good and simple recipe. With some modifications it will definitely become a regular in my kitchen. It needs more spice, perhaps some mint and a spoon of yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tarasovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States