Middle Eastern Pasta With Yogurt and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years. All my five sons were raised on it and it is a family favorite to be sure. It is so delicious and refreshing! One thing we do differently is that we toast the pinenuts (in a pan on the stove) and do not add them in with the beef, instead they are sprinkled over the top of the dish. That way they have a roasted taste and stay crunchy. We also top the dish with fresh chopped Italian parsley. It really adds freshness to the taste. And we keep a bowl of plain yogurt on the table if anyone needs to refresh their dish. You can be sure that there were heaps of this delicious entree piled high on my boy's plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a kick go-to recipe, my mom used to make it all the time when we were kids and we still love it. My additions are that I add 2 TBSP of Tahini (sesame paste) to the yogurt, a dash of lemon, and a bit more garlic than in this recipe. Use a thicker spaghetti or a thin linguine. Also, and this is the BEST tip that makes it yum yum delicious...you want to drain the pasta, and then put it back in the pot and add the yogurt...mix a bit of meat in with the yogurt and heat it through. It tastes sooo much better than when its just cold. Top with the meat and you're ready to go. Its so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Two quick points: a) It IS bland, regardless of whether it tastes good or not. The way you can spruce it up is as follows: 1. Be a bit generous with the salt and garlic (while mixing it with the yoghurt before adding the pasta) 2. Add about 2-3 tablespoons of mild hot sauce (not tabasco or anything strong, closer to louisiana hot sauces) 3. Keep in mind: this is a cold dish. The only hot ingredient here is the meat and pine nuts. The rest- including the pasta- should be refrigerated. and b) If you want to do without the 37 grams of fat, replace the 2 tablespoons of corn oil with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, use only half a cup of pine nuts, and use low-fat yoghurt. This brings it down to the 20 gram range. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Holy cow! This was WAY better than I thought it would be! I omitted the pine nuts, used ground turkey and whole wheat pasta and added a sprinkle of parm cheese and lemon zest! Like I said, HOLY COW! Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My husband is from Syria and he disagrees with the previous reviewer. This dish is very authentic Syrian cooking. I added half a white onion and cooked it in the oil before adding the minced meat. We really enjoyed this dish and it was very easy to make. The garlic breath effect stops this one from being enjoyed during a romantic evening in though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I had not heard of this particular recipe and it did catch my eye! It is delicious. I did add some "Allspice" and a touch of lemon juice to the meat - lamb- while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know what one of the reviewer, who gave 1 star was talking about when he/she mentioned garlic doesn't go with yogurt. I live in the Middle East and that is very much the case. Curries is mainly in Indian/Pakistani Dishes not so much in Middle Eastern. There is another recipe on here which uses the same ingredients except for meat and that's also excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hello kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe with few changes. It is also very authentic (my Jordanian boyfriend makes the same thing). Increase finely minced garlic to 4 cloves and season generously with salt and pepper. I cooked 1/2 medium onion chopped with meat. Instead of cooking the pine nuts with the meat, I use silvered almonds and fry them in the frying pan alone and sprinkle at the end (this will keep the nuts to be crunchy). I also like to garnish with copped parsley. With these changes, the past is amazing, flavorful and so creamy. (its hard to believe that it's all yogurt! no cream or butter!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hello kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I totally omitted the extra oil in this recipe, as I felt it was unneeded. When I made this, I wanted a warm sauce, so I browned the garlic in the pan I cooked the beef in and then added the yogurt to it. I think it would work fine with a cold sauce as well. I also used an extra clove of garlic and added a little more salt and pepper to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We really liked this dish. To be honest, we did 'tweak' the recipe based on what we had in the house. We used EVOO instead of corn oil (mainly because it is healthier), crumbled tofu (spicy, gave a nice kick), whole grain wide noodles (in the cupboard). We also added sliced mushrooms & crushed dried mint leaves in lieu of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States