Middle Eastern Pasta With Yogurt and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is a great dish for a quick and healthy meal for kids and adults. I make this dish at least a couple times a month. I would have rated this recipe five stars if seasoning and onions were added into the meat while cooking. I alternate between organic ground beef and chopped chuck steak. Ground beef is usually much easier to prepare. I first sauté one finely chopped onion in frying pan and then add beef. I add a clove of minced garlic to the beef onion mixture and continue to sauté. As it is cooking I add a couple dashes of allspice, salt and pepper. This makes the dish a lot tastier. You can also garnish this dish with a little parsley. This dish is also great for dinner parties. A easy meal to prepare with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We really liked this dish. To be honest, we did 'tweak' the recipe based on what we had in the house. We used EVOO instead of corn oil (mainly because it is healthier), crumbled tofu (spicy, gave a nice kick), whole grain wide noodles (in the cupboard). We also added sliced mushrooms & crushed dried mint leaves in lieu of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I totally omitted the extra oil in this recipe, as I felt it was unneeded. When I made this, I wanted a warm sauce, so I browned the garlic in the pan I cooked the beef in and then added the yogurt to it. I think it would work fine with a cold sauce as well. I also used an extra clove of garlic and added a little more salt and pepper to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Holy cow! This was WAY better than I thought it would be! I omitted the pine nuts, used ground turkey and whole wheat pasta and added a sprinkle of parm cheese and lemon zest! Like I said, HOLY COW! Really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hello kitty
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe with few changes. It is also very authentic (my Jordanian boyfriend makes the same thing). Increase finely minced garlic to 4 cloves and season generously with salt and pepper. I cooked 1/2 medium onion chopped with meat. Instead of cooking the pine nuts with the meat, I use silvered almonds and fry them in the frying pan alone and sprinkle at the end (this will keep the nuts to be crunchy). I also like to garnish with copped parsley. With these changes, the past is amazing, flavorful and so creamy. (its hard to believe that it's all yogurt! no cream or butter!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hello kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
needed more garlic, pasta too hard, and kids didn't like the looks of it (at least one of the kids) another disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabuhay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Two quick points: a) It IS bland, regardless of whether it tastes good or not. The way you can spruce it up is as follows: 1. Be a bit generous with the salt and garlic (while mixing it with the yoghurt before adding the pasta) 2. Add about 2-3 tablespoons of mild hot sauce (not tabasco or anything strong, closer to louisiana hot sauces) 3. Keep in mind: this is a cold dish. The only hot ingredient here is the meat and pine nuts. The rest- including the pasta- should be refrigerated. and b) If you want to do without the 37 grams of fat, replace the 2 tablespoons of corn oil with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, use only half a cup of pine nuts, and use low-fat yoghurt. This brings it down to the 20 gram range. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know what one of the reviewer, who gave 1 star was talking about when he/she mentioned garlic doesn't go with yogurt. I live in the Middle East and that is very much the case. Curries is mainly in Indian/Pakistani Dishes not so much in Middle Eastern. There is another recipe on here which uses the same ingredients except for meat and that's also excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I was disappointed. Sounded great made it for a friend who loves this kind of cuisine. It was ok.... Very bland. Maybe ok as small side dish, but definitely not main dish. Not worth keeping the recipe or making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was not good. It was bland and the yogurt cooled everything down to make lukewarm pasta. I don't understand why folks like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States