Middle Eastern Kibbeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My family LOVES this! Sometimes I'll sneak a handful of baby spinach into the food processor with the mint, it turns the kibbeh a bit green, but you can't taste it at all, it's a great way to sneak some greens in for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good starter recipe. I added 1/2 cup of pine nuts. In my opinion it needs to be jazzed up with more spice. Will add extra cumin and allspice as well as cayenne and garlic as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for my husband who is Lebanese and he just loves it. I use ground beef instead of lamb. We eat it with pita bread and plain yogurt. So simple yet so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this a couple of weeks ago and wasn't so sure sure about it at the time. I sauteed a couple of small kibbehs in a pan. Afterwards, I baked the rest of the mixture, and put it in the freezer. Today, I decided to try a few pieces and I LOVED IT!!! In the final analysis, I think sauteeing it in the olive oil just didn't work for me. Maybe a little greasy tasting??? Anyway, two thumbs up for baking it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe; this is one of my favorite ground meat dishes! I make a double batch in a large cake pan, bake it for 35-40 mins and finish with a few minutes under the broiler. The kibbeh freezes very well. It's great topped with toasted pine nuts and a yogurt sauce (either raita or a quick mix of Greek yogurt, minced garlic, and dried dill). I omit the 3 tbs olive oil - it's plenty moist and flavorful without it. Also, I usually use a combination of meats - 1/3 lamb and 2/3 lean beef is great, and it's hard to tell the difference vs. all lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. We had kibbeh at my husband's bosses house and we have been wanting it ever since. This recipe was wonderful. I pressed it into a pan and baked it. I added a half cup of toasted pine nuts. Next time I may add more seasonings and salt. I served it with a salad of tomato, cucumber, onion, olive oil and lemon. Then some hummus, tzatkiki and pitta bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Being Lebanese and this one of our national dish, we use fine burghul and we add some ground marjoram to the meat mixture.... And we serve it with youghurt mixed with chopped cucumber or green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imane
Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Tasty, but a little dry. I will probably add pine nuts, as another reviewer did, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I liked the recipe and my family thought it was tasty. I made it in the oven as it was one of the cooking options. I did find that it was not necessary to add the three tablespoons of oil on top as it ended up a bit to oily but overall it was a success. I did add a bit of cayenne pepper, garlic powder and cumin to the meat to add a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This recipe was awesome!! The only change I made was to add pine nuts. Other than that, this recipe is just perfect as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

How to Make Sukiyaki

Watch Yasuko make soul-warming Japanese sukiyaki.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States