Middle Eastern Kibbeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. l baked mine as patties. My family and friends loved every bite. This will become a staple in my home. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the REAL DEAL!!! I did add pine nuts (1/2 cup chopped) and used half lamb half ground sirloin...just preference. It was awesome! Probably better than our favorite restaurant. This Eastern European wife made her Syrian husband very proud!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESECAKEMAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made a half batch of this and my husband and I loved it. As per other reviewer's recommendations, I added an 1/8 cup of pine nuts to half the patties I made, and then I cooked another 1/8 cup in the pan with the lamb patties, which we put in the pitas with the patties. I am not sure which we liked more, as the toasted pine nuts added a delicious crunch, but the ones IN the patties added a unique, almost chewy texture. We served the patties in pita pockets with a little extra chopped mint, sliced tomato, tahini drizzle and a dollop of full-fat greek yogurt. Served alongside spicy chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My family LOVES this! Sometimes I'll sneak a handful of baby spinach into the food processor with the mint, it turns the kibbeh a bit green, but you can't taste it at all, it's a great way to sneak some greens in for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good starter recipe. I added 1/2 cup of pine nuts. In my opinion it needs to be jazzed up with more spice. Will add extra cumin and allspice as well as cayenne and garlic as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for my husband who is Lebanese and he just loves it. I use ground beef instead of lamb. We eat it with pita bread and plain yogurt. So simple yet so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this a couple of weeks ago and wasn't so sure sure about it at the time. I sauteed a couple of small kibbehs in a pan. Afterwards, I baked the rest of the mixture, and put it in the freezer. Today, I decided to try a few pieces and I LOVED IT!!! In the final analysis, I think sauteeing it in the olive oil just didn't work for me. Maybe a little greasy tasting??? Anyway, two thumbs up for baking it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe; this is one of my favorite ground meat dishes! I make a double batch in a large cake pan, bake it for 35-40 mins and finish with a few minutes under the broiler. The kibbeh freezes very well. It's great topped with toasted pine nuts and a yogurt sauce (either raita or a quick mix of Greek yogurt, minced garlic, and dried dill). I omit the 3 tbs olive oil - it's plenty moist and flavorful without it. Also, I usually use a combination of meats - 1/3 lamb and 2/3 lean beef is great, and it's hard to tell the difference vs. all lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. We had kibbeh at my husband's bosses house and we have been wanting it ever since. This recipe was wonderful. I pressed it into a pan and baked it. I added a half cup of toasted pine nuts. Next time I may add more seasonings and salt. I served it with a salad of tomato, cucumber, onion, olive oil and lemon. Then some hummus, tzatkiki and pitta bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Being Lebanese and this one of our national dish, we use fine burghul and we add some ground marjoram to the meat mixture.... And we serve it with youghurt mixed with chopped cucumber or green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imane
Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States