Middle Eastern Kibbeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was AWESOME!! I had been wanting to make kibbeh for a long time. When I was studying in Mexico, I found that there were quite a few middle eastern restaurants, and this dish was very popular. In the US, it seems not many people have heard of it. I liked the fact that the mint and onion was mixed right up into the meat/bulgur mix, as I've only had it on the side before. I made raita to eat with this b/c I thought the flavors would go well together and it was DELISH!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe, it was absolutely wonderful. I had been looking for a recipe for baked kibi (kibbeh) for a while now and this one was the closest to perfect I could find. The only thing that i changed, and it is a personal taste thing, is added more bulgar and less meat. Oh, one other thing, for an extra little change gently stir in some fresh toasted almond slices. Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
it was perfect! I made it with low-fat minced beef and did not add any oil, baked it, and it was still really good. I also added more bulgur and spices (bit of cinammon, clove of garlic, ginger powder and cayenne pepper). For a dip, I mixed 1/2 cup of yogurt, 2 tbsp of tahini and 2 tbsp of water, salt and pepper. thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made these last night and we really enjoyed them - we served them with the couscous and cucumber salad also from allrecipes, and the flavors blended really well together. I did have to use dried mint (@1/4 cup) instead of fresh and ground beef instead of lamb, as our supermarket didn't have either fresh mint or ground lamb available. I'd probably use less mint next time (just personal preference), and we liked them even better when they were sprinkled with a bit of garlic salt while pan frying. The leftovers were fabulous too, we didn't even bother heating them up, they tasted so great at room temperature and straight from the fridge. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I was surprised to find a recipe for kibbeh here... it's very similar to my recipe which is also very popular in Brazil. I finally found bulgur CAN be found here and the first thing I made was kibbeh. My recipe takes toasted pine nuts (about 1/2 cup) mixed in and you can place the whole mixture in a 9x13 baking pan (foil or glass) and bake it at 350F for 30/35 minutes. It's very popular to serve this way as well. I use to make a little vinaigrette to serve on the side: diced tomatoes, cucumbers, chopped parsley, some hot pepper drops and chopped parsley. My husband fell in love with it and the next time we'll make patties and grill the kibbeh. Thanks for posting, I'm sure everybody will enjoy this dish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Hubby gives this recipe a definite 5 stars! I finally realized why I can't get my Lebanese husband to care for any meatloaf recipes - after eating kibbeh, no meatloaf can compare! Only addition I would make is 1/2 c. or so of pine nuts (sold in small bags in the baking aisle with other nuts). Just isn't authentic kibbeh without the pine nuts. (You can also use 1/2 ground turkey and/or 1/2 lean ground beef for your meat if desired; the spices make this recipe!) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this for my Lebanese paramour, who said this was the best kibbeh he had had in the states. The recipe is perfect as-is and way easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. le Fay
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe! I subbed toasted pine nuts for the mint, and baked them in the oven, served it on pita bread with mayo, mustard, lettuce, and tomato. It tastes just like it came from a favorite local lunch spot! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
The taste was good, but I had a very hard time getting them to not fall apart while cooking. Some egg might be useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Just took this out of the oven and sampled.....it is delicious! I pressed it into a pan and baked it as instructed. It held together well. I do find the allspice a little overpowering for my taste, so I may cut it back a little bit next time. This tastes very similar to the Kibbeh I have tasted that was made by my friend's Lebanese mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

How to Make Sukiyaki

Watch Yasuko make soul-warming Japanese sukiyaki.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States