Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
my husband and i thought this was delicious! next time, i'll try red wine vinegar, instead of balsamic, and fresh tomatoes from the garden. yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used a lot less bread, my husband loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is a GREAT salad. I minced the garlic and added it to the dressing. I also mixed the vingar (I used red wine) with a teaspoon of prepared mustard before combining with the oil so it would combine better. I would toast the bread in the oven next time first so it won't be so soggy. I left out the cucumbers and used all tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
It is a must to toast the bread - left out the thyme. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
My husband and I loved this salad. The first time I made it I did not have thyme or red onion. I made it anyway and we thought that was delicious. When I had all the ingredients and tried it again it was out of this world. We both loved it. Mozzarella is a nice addition to this also. I did toast the bread and used only half of what was called for. I will make this over and over again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This salad was wonderful! Very fresh tasting and flavorful. I chopped all ingredients in food processor except for tomatoes and bread. Did not measure salad ingredients (only dressing). Ended up with a lot of salad so I doubled dressing. My picky husband enjoyed this! The next day I used the salad (minus bread) as a sauce. I sauteed boneless, skinless chicken breast pieces; added salad and heated through and served over pasta. Very tasty. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This salad was divine! My fiance absolutely loved it! I found when that if you toast fresh bread pieces in warm olive oil mixed with minced garlic it adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Interesting and fun to serve, but the taste is a bit sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Wonderful flavor!! I only used 8 slices of bread, 4 toasted and 4 not toasted to see which way we liked it. We much preferred the untoasted bread. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I loved this recipe. I used a sourdough jaba?? Dont know what a jaba is but it was a longish football loaf. I semi-toasted on lowest setting. I did not have red onion either and used empire sweet. I combined balsamic and red wine vinegar (is this a big no-no? ....was delicious) I was also out of cucumber and finally I did not have a wooden bowl. I used my garlic press and rubbed all over bowl. Yum Yum! I love tomato season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States