Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This salad is awesome! We ate it as the main dish and couldn't have asked for a more refreshing and flavorful dinner. I did not make any changes other than adding a bit more balsamic vinegar. This is easy to make and most of the veggies came from our garden. I will definately make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I didn't measure anything except the oil and vinegar... next time I'll use less basil and more tomatoes. Good and fresh and healthy... my only complaint is the serious garlic breath you're bound to get from the raw minced garlic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Delicious! It may sound strange, but we tried adding avocado, and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I made this recipie for company but ended up not serving it. The balsamic vinegar made the cucumbers look brown, and the dressing is too oily. I will make this again but use white wine vinegar instead of the balsamic, and will cut the amount of oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent flavors!!!I didn't have balsamic vinegar, so I used Paul Newmans Balsamic Italian dressing. It was delish with fresh veggies from my garden. I did serve the bread on the side, toasted, as others stated. People ate it that way, if they wanted to toss all together they could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Not bad. Bread needed toasting - should have read the comments and done that in the 1st place - slightly stale bread is not appetizing. The rest of the salad reminded me of bruschetta, so next time I'll just toast bread slices and top them with the salad blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This really was good! Rachael Ray did something like this on her show and at first it didn't sound appealling to me, but I followed the advice of other reviewers and toasted my bread in the oven first to get it crisp. Also rubbed the bread with garlic (since I wasn't using a wooden salad bowl) and even though it softened up in the salad, it still had some chewy/crunchy texture. I also added other fresh herbs - rosemary and oregano - since I have pots of them on my deck. Will make this again - maybe try different "artisan" bread in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
A little unusual to have stale bread in a salad, but this is quite good! Going to look for it in Italy this summer :) Very yummy - we added in feta cheese and some black olives which I suppose made the salad more Greek than Italian, but the flavours really improved. If not a salad, this could also make a good bruschetta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This salad is a great side to any Italian dish. We couldn't find a loaf of nice Italian bread so we substituted with French. Next time we will try a European Rye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States