Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
very delish. the only thing that i ended up changing is the amount of tomatoes .. since we love our tomatoes i ended up tripling the amount. added more olive oil to moisten bread..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
The Italian Bread Salad I made for dinner tonight was very similar to this one. I was able to get fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, and red & green peppers from my sister's garden so everything was very fresh. I added capers and kalamata olives to the salad, too. This was our dinner, so I added a few more pieces of bread to the bowl. (Probably too many, in looking back in hindsight.) Leftovers should be good tomorrow, even if the bread is a bit mushy. I'm so glad I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Favorite salad. Don't love thyme so I eliminated it. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I bought some expensive bread that was already stale, so had to find a recipe for it. I was missing several ingredients: cukes, red onion and fresh herbs - it was still delicious. I added extra garlic and extra tomato and made my own Italian dressing with Good Seasonings dressing mix. I also added a can of black beans (rinsed and drained). I'd love to try this again when I have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this salad. I usally get tired of salads, but I make this several times a week for a side salad with supper or for my noon-time lunch! I've also added green olives and sliced avacado to the salad and it tastes SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
What a unique flavor! The second time I made it, I cut the olive oil to a teaspoon and added some more balsamic vinegar, plus cut the bread in half to save on calories. It was still wonderful--even my dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very good...next time I will add strips of green pepper, cubes of mozzerella cheese and a sprinkling of oregano to make it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Really good. I had never made a bread salad before, but since my husband is a huge bread lover (and not a salad lover) I thought I'd give it a try. Huge hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good, but for some reason not popular at the potluck I attended. It was not my favorite, but still pretty good. This is one of those recipes you have to eat at one sitting. Otherwise it gets pretty soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Very good summer salad, and excellent way to get your fresh garden veggies into your meals. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States