Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very yummy. A great beginning to a summer evening on the back deck. Rather than rubbing the garlic, I used several (eg. lots) garlic cloves. Don't forget to cut them in half and take out the bitter core. Well worth the effort. Place these in a bowl add the olive oil and whizz (my new culinary term :) with an immersion blender. Strain this mixture and you have an awesome garlic olive oil that will keep for several days in the fridge. I also toasted after coating the crusty bread bits with some of the garlic oil. Added an awesome layer of extra flavour! Thanks Tamara for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Glenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
The Family loved this as well! I too added mozzerella and used grape tomatoe's instead and was much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is really good. I left out the thyme and added fresh mozzerella to it. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I really liked this! Great way to use up the garden produce. I didn't have a red onion so I used a shallot. My bread was brand new so I toasted it. I also thought the basil amount would be overpowering so I just used what I thought looked good. Added Mozzarello Balls, yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Delicious!! We added fresh mozzarella cheese balls and didn't have the fresh thyme, but it was great. I'll definitely make this again and try some of the other users suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I love this salad, it's so fresh and delicious-a nice change from the regular italian fare! I added cannelini beans, shaved parmesan, and used fresh italian flat leaf parsley instead of thyme. I also lightly toasted the bread chunks first so it wouldn't get mushy. It was SO good, my guest and I both had seconds and kept exclaiming "this is fantastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very impressive salad. I cut the bread into chunks and drizzled with olive oil and garlic and baked on a cookie sheet for a few minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, chopping all the veggies fine. Delicious. Next time im gonna try keeping the bread in slices and making a brucshetta with the salad. Maybe add some kind of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was good. I toasted my bread in olive oil and garlic like one reveiwer suggested, because my bread was fresh. I don't think I have the greatest tasting olive oil, so with that I think I should have mixed maybe 1\2 and 1\2; olive oil and salsd oil, it might not have had such a bitter taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was pretty good. I am not a big fan of soggy bread to make sure that Italian bread is stale before you rip it up and throw it into the salad. I would recommend doing that just before you serve it and the dressing goes on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was very good and flavorful. The rosemary in the bread makes all the difference. I love the texture of the bread as it mixes with the dressing and juice from the veggies--slightly chewy and very substantial. Next time, I'll add more veggies; the bread-to-veggie ratio as prepared was a bit heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States