Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this salad for a birthday party that had an italian theme going on. Although I thought it was good enough with the ingredients given in the recipe I wanted to make it a little more interesting. So, I added to the existing recipe; sauteed chopped pancetta, also, chopped up some artichoke hearts and used shaved parmesan cheese, for the dressing I made garlic & rosemary infused olive oil and balsamic reduction so the bread wouldn't get soggy as the reduction is more like a syrup. Buon divertimento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Real nice salad, very filling. I left out the cucumbers though (don't like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I thought the basil flavor was way too strong. If I made it again, I would use at least half spinach instead of all the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really liked this. I doubled the recipe. I used 2 whole cucumbers even tho it amounted to more than the 2 cups required by the double recipe. Wasn't too much. I cut the bread in cubes and toasted @ 400 degrees for 5-7 minutes. Til just starting to get crisp. I think the bread would have been really mushy otherwise. I didn't combine the bread cubes with the rest of the salad until just before serving. I did not need all the dressing the recipe called for. Need to add salt and pepper. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wow.... This salad rocked this labor day Monday. Started off early this morning. Did the tomatoes, the cucumbers, then red onions. Soaked that in the Olive oil and balsamic. Then ran to Shop Rite and got the fresh Basil and Thyme. The Fresh Basil is the key. I actually did a double amount of the entire recipe, and with 10 folks, it was gone. Everybody loved it. I sorta cheated and used gourmet croutons... but that worked just fine as they were extra large. Gave it some crunch. I would recommend this recipe again. In fact, two people asked if they could have it. Alas I didn't take a picture... but an empty bowl pretty much says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Loved this! I used a variety of small tomatoes from my garden in this. For the bread I used a challah. Very refreshing salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I made this salad for my husband and he absolutely loved it. I changed the recipe slightly by adding 2 cups of raw spinach, and after I tossed the salad, I sprinkled some fresh Parmigiano Reggiano all over it. I think next time I will bake the bread in the oven for a few minutes so the bread doesn't absorb too much of the oil/vinegar mixture. Overall a fresh salad that is perfect for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I love this salad. My neighbors love this salad. My friends love this salad. My friends Grandmas love this salad! I use an english cucumber and occasionally I throw in some bocconcini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very nice side salad...wasn't a huge fan of soggy bread, so eat it quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made this last night. Followed to a T and after reading reviews added some feta cheese and toasted the bread in a pan a little. Will definately add to my rotation! Got nothing but compliments! Thanks Tamara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States