Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Great simple salad, easy to make and very refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Disarmingly simple and healthy. Wonderful contrast of flavors, textures and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is my new favorite salad! I used a roasted garlic bread instead of the fresh garlic the first time.. and it was amazing! The second time I made it, I used a rosemary bread and fresh garlic.. and it was good too! I like this recipe, becuase you can play with the ingredients a little bit. Some fresh pepper on top was nice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Such a colorful salad. Everyone commented on its summery appearance. We did add baby spinach and toasted the bread prior to adding the dressing, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is a tasty salad. I made a vinegrette with some dijon, added arugula and spinach, and omitted the onion. Served with a small side of pasta, it's perfect for a summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This is a great salad even for those of us who don't like tomatoes or onions. I doubled the tomatoes, cucumbers, olive oil, vinegar, garlic (even though its raw), added some lemon zest (Just got a micro-plain!), and a little lemon juice but didn't use all the onion called for. Also added some mozzarella. Even without these changes a very good salad, but gave it a 4 because to make it better I changed so much. I also toasted the bread cubes in the oven for 10 min or so at 400, corners just turned slightly golden. I let the basil, garlic, onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, vinegar, lemon zest and juice, and olive oil sit for a while to meld then poured over bread after about 1ish hour. (To make it easier I put the basil, onion, garlic, and oil into a food processor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scio, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought this was very good and refreshing. Next time, I may add a bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I brought this salad to a baby shower of a friend who loves garlic and tomatoes. I got raves and guests asked for the recipe. I think this is a unique dish for most people and is sure to impress. My caveat . . . I added about 2T of capers for added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This salad smells so good. i was worried about the basil being to strong, but it was sooo good. I didn't have quite 2 cups of basil so I ripped up just a little spinach. My husband got really excited about this salad. He has plans to serve it when we entertain. I also added some seasoned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great salad. Toasted the bread so it wasn't soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States