Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
The only reason I am not rating it higher is because me and my family can not stand the taste of raw onions. I also added shredded meat slices for my meat loving hubby and threw in a bit of parmesan cheese. I would definintely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I thought this was going to be really weird. It was REALLY good. Even DH liked it. I didn't use the cream sherry -- I used some balsamic vinegar instead. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I gave this a 5, but made quite a bit of changes. I sprayed my bread cubes with olive oil and toasted them until they were golden. I didn't measure anything, just put in as much as I thought we would like. For the dressing I used olive oil, balsamic vinegar, 3 cloves of garlic (was a bit too strong), and dried rosemary (did not have any thyme). I put all this in my electric chopper and it made a great emulsified dressing. I also only used about two bunches of basil chopped and subbed spinach for the rest. We had it with pasta and loved it!! I served the bread cubes on top of the salad so they would not get soggy. Easy recipe and so easy to modify to your taste. Will be a staple now that the weather is heating up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is delicious! I added about 2 cups of mini balls of fresh mozzerella. I also used 1/2 cup olive oil and 4 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar. My whole family thought this dish was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i love this salad...try chopping up an avocado with it for a slightly different view...it also makes the dressing a little creamier. SOOOOO GOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This salad is a great side dish for lasagna or spaghetti. Excellent flavor. I toasted the bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
F A N T A S T I C!!!! I substituted baby spinach for much of the basil. We don't have a garden and I sure as heck wasn't paying the grocery store's price on fresh basil! My family LOVED it, even my 3 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Unfortunately this was not a hit. No one ate much of it and I had a ton left over. I think there was too much fresh basil, and the bread was kind of dry. The only change I made was an addition of fresh mozzerella cubed. Maybe if I had added slice salami or pepperoni it would have made it into a "sub salad" and been more appealing to everyone. I probably won't make this again, too much effort for the disappointing result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this with a cooking group awhile back. I really like the bread/balsamic vinegar combination. I think I will skip the salad part next time and just dip my bread in the vinegar and herbs. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Fabulous!! maybe double the dressing to make sure it is wet enough. But refreshing and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States