Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
One of my favorite heartier salads for summer w/fresh veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Love it!! I've been making it for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Add fresh moz cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Loved this salad! It was easy to make and delicious to boot. However, I'm not much on all the basil that was in it so I simply used only 1.5 cups. I also added minced garlic to the salad. Made garlic chicken to place on top - it was delicious! It won my husband's vote and he is a picky eater so that is hard to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I lightly toasted the bread in a saute pan with some olive oil and garlic and waited and didn't mix the bread until about 10 minutes prior to serving. I also mix the vinaigrette with a little bit of mustard, to bind it together, This was not enough dressing so we doubled it. Didn't have thyme so I used Italian parsley. I served this at bbq IT WAS AMAZING!! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My favorite salad ever. I use about 4x the amount of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and no thyme. I have also made this with all of the chopped up fruits/vegetables straight out of the freezer, and let them sit in the salad to thaw overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this salad for a birthday party that had an italian theme going on. Although I thought it was good enough with the ingredients given in the recipe I wanted to make it a little more interesting. So, I added to the existing recipe; sauteed chopped pancetta, also, chopped up some artichoke hearts and used shaved parmesan cheese, for the dressing I made garlic & rosemary infused olive oil and balsamic reduction so the bread wouldn't get soggy as the reduction is more like a syrup. Buon divertimento!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Real nice salad, very filling. I left out the cucumbers though (don't like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I thought the basil flavor was way too strong. If I made it again, I would use at least half spinach instead of all the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really liked this. I doubled the recipe. I used 2 whole cucumbers even tho it amounted to more than the 2 cups required by the double recipe. Wasn't too much. I cut the bread in cubes and toasted @ 400 degrees for 5-7 minutes. Til just starting to get crisp. I think the bread would have been really mushy otherwise. I didn't combine the bread cubes with the rest of the salad until just before serving. I did not need all the dressing the recipe called for. Need to add salt and pepper. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States