Mid-Eastern Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
As the submitter of this recipe, I have some comments. I tried to make it tonight following the recipe but I realize that I probably put double the spices on the chicken. I just sprinkle a healthy dose of curry, and then follow with about twice as much garam masala. If the sauce gets too low and we're having rice, I add another 1/2 cup wine and the rest of the can of broth (a little more than half). You can also buy one of the little bottles of wine and use that in the recipe instead of measuring. They are a little over 1/2 cp. Finally, at the end of cooking, I remove the chicken and bring the sauce to a hard boil for about 5 minutes until it is reduced. I don't know why that instruction didn't make it into the published version. Others have commented that they like it spicier and by all means bring out your spicy curry and red pepper if thats what you want. But I posted this recipe as something that children will eat while still keeping their more adventurous parents happy. I hope you all continue to enjoy this recipe. Its great features are that is quick, cheap, and has few ingredients. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is one of the best (and easiest to make!) curries I have ever had. Like others, I added more spices, as well as cayenne pepper to taste, as we like it hot! For the last 10 minutes of simmering I took the cover off the pan and allowed the broth/wine/vinegar mixture to reduce to a creamy glaze, which I served over the chicken. We paired this with a cool salad to offset the heat for a delicious low-carb dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debonweb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a great, cheap recipe that is easy to make. I only gave it four stars because I did have to alter it a bit. First, I used Madras curry powder. As I have 5 different jars of curry powder in my pantry, I felt I was taking a risk on this but chose well I think. Second, I used regular chicken broth instead of the low sodium and it still did not have enough salt. Simply add salt for more flavor. I spiced it up with a half teaspoon of extra spicy indian chili powder. This gave it a much needed kick. I also added a bit of flour mixed with water to thicken the gravy up some. Pour it over short grain brown rice and its awesome. Enough for four meals given a side. I'm definitely adding this one to my standard recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Absolutely beautiful........no change to the recipe. The flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is one of those great recipes; few ingredients, simple and quick with a surprisingly tasty result. I probably used a lot more curry than called for, but we like things a little spicier. I added some green beans the last few minutes and I could see a number of vegetables options that would work with this. Over jasmine rice, it was enjoyed by all. Thanks for this great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope Hard Wilkens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent, especially after adding cayenne, salt, and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Really good recipe, I substituted balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar (since I didn't have any) and it was still really great, easy and pretty quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcrocklein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I added chili powder b/c we like our food on the spicier side. My husband offered a 10/10 rating, which is really good b/c he eats a lot of different recipes that I make. We really liked this dish and it's nice b/c it has so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made this for dinner last night, and even my husband loved it. Followed the recipe pretty closely. Full flavor without a lot of sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Super easy recipe. Cooking times are perfect. As recommended, I increased seasonings on chicken and all liquids by 50%. I would recommend salt and pepper and maybe I will try a little chilli powder next time to add a bit more flavor. The flavor is not over powering as written so the kids did not create any resistance. Yummy recipe-thank you Klevear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States