Mid-Eastern Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was excellent. I took the advice of the author of this recipe and added more garam masala and curry powder. I thought it would be too spicy; but NO. Just right! Thanks for the recipe. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Ok, but nothing fabulous...I found it rather bland. If I try it again, I'll add more spices for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used a large amount (more than the recipe stated) of garam masala and extra spicy curry powder, but it still lacked flavor and was rather boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this recipe and it was great as made according to the original directions, but it really need some tweaking. When I made this the second time around, I modified the recipe first, by doubling the sauce (cause we love sauce in my family!) and thickened it up by adding 2 1/2-3 Tbs flour. I also added about a tablespoon of cumin, a dash of coriander, and parsley flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I gave this dish 5 stars because it was simple, delicious and quite healthy. So many curry recipes list 20 ingredients and steps but this was super easy and so tasty. Before using a recipe I find here I always read the reviews to see about any adjustments. I sauteed a few of cloves of garlic with the onion about 1/2 way through because I add garlic to everything. I also seasoned the chicken with salt and cayenne pepper. To thicken the sauce I combined some of the sauce in a bowl with a couple of teaspoons of flour then added it back to the pan. Lastly I added about 2 cups of frozen peas to the pan. I served it over quinoa to make a complete, high protein meal. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizsarah77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this was my first experience using the spice blend garam masala... it was phenomenal! Thank you for a good strong recipe that was easy to follow - it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of the easiest recipes to make as well as very affordable. I have two 15 year old boys and a teen girl and I can make a big large meal that they all LOVE! I switch the curry for tandori spice as the kids dont always like the spice curry. Tastes amazing both ways. The chicken is so soft and juicy. Thank you for this wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is a good and quick recipe followed exactly as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Since this recipe was so well reviewed, I made it verbatim to start. It was good but a little bland, so I doctored it some in the last few minutes of cooking. I found it benefited from 1) adding a hefty dose of salt 2) adding 2-3 tbsp white sugar and 3) using 1 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with some hot broth in the last few minutes to thicken it. With these changes, it was fabulous. Also, I followed the suggestion of the chef and used double the seasoning (2 tbsp garam masala and 1 tsp curry powder). All in all, very few changes were made to make our family happy. A darn fine, cheap and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Geek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Hubby called this one "a keeper". Not the prettiest dish but definitely yummy. As always, I adjusted the spices to taste. Served with Algerian Carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States