Microwave Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was great, I was looking for something to replace the packet taco seasoning. I did not microwave the meat, I cooked the usual way in a frying pan, then drained, then added the seasonings and water and let that cook on low for about 10 minutes. This will replace the store bought stuff! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I struggled whether to give this 4 or 5 stars. I thought it was 4 before my additions and 5 after. I cooked on stove and was thrilled to not have to chop an onion~ one less step! I went easy on the cayenne and next time will reduce the salt a bit as well. Thought it was okay as is, but thought it needed more depth of flavor. Added about a tsp of cumin and a generous sprinkling of onion powder. Now it's just right! Bring on the tacos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I followed the recipe to the tee and it was great. The whole family loved it and it didn't taste any different than stove top cooked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Like the first reviewer, DAVIDNKATE, I was looking for a replacement to the taco packet seasoning. I also make this recipe over the stove with ground turkey. I've been known to throw in a clove or two of garlic as well. It's turned out very tasty each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Good taco meat, not spicy at all, so if you don't like spicy tacos this is the one for you! This didn't make our favorites since we like spicy tacos but it is a good starting point. I did mine stovetop as I'm just more comfortable cooking the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Wow! Surprisingly tasty tacos!!! I wasn't expecting much flavor. Microwaved taco meat??!!!?! Made these today for a get-together with friends. I needed someting easy to prepare as I was running short on time (and energy). Served alongside salsa rice (by Molly Ingle) with beer margaritas (by Big Surprise) to wash it all down, these were very tasty! I made a double batch (big eaters here...), so I had to microwave my meat for close to 11.5 minutes total. Served with hard taco shells, shredded taco seasoned cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, green onion, taco sauce and sour cream. It's amazing how good 'ol "comfort" food tastes. These remind me exactly of my mother's tacos. A great childhood memory. Thanks for sharing. I'll never use taco seasoning again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Cooked it over the stove instead of microwave (I have a problem with gray meat) If you want it spicy, use GOOD cayenne pepper. I also put mine through the food processor a few seconds when it was done to really break up the meat. This is an awesome recipe. I put it in corn tortillas and fried them to brown em a little, added cheddar cheese, lettuce and taco sauce. Voila....just like home, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was good, but wasn't quite as good as the package (a modest standard at best). I added 1 tsp of cumin which helped make it better, but something else is missing - not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe was great!! I didn't want to have to wash a lot of dishes, so it really helped me out. :) The recipe is really easy. One thing that I did was I ground up the beef more after I had put it in the microwave the first time, so I could get rid of more of the clumps. (Basically, I ground it up more before I put the spices in.) I thought the spices mix was good, but I'm going to try adding a taco mix pack for the next time. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Wow - I was surprised that this works! I had to spice it up a bit more but nobody even noticed I did it differently. I like to cook with my own spices instead of the packages. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States