Microwave Sponge Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
What an easy and delicious recipe! Added some lemon zest to give it a kick and it turned out great. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Fantastic idea! Found this recipe when wondering what to do with extra butter-sugar glaze that I had made for another recipe I found here, Lemon Fiesta Cake (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lemon-fiesta-cake/), so this had a tinge of lemon flavour as well -- brilliant! Didn't change anything else in this recipe (other than the spritz of lemon juice added to the butter-sugar mixture for the glaze I made), and it cooked to perfection in 3 1/2 minutes exactly. This recipe is so versatile that I'm definitely going to try this again with perhaps cocoa powder and some more sugar, maybe some roasted walnuts or pecans thrown in as well. Served with a dollop of ice cream to add some moistness, this would make a ridiculously easy yet wonderful dessert. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Just tried this! Not too shabby, but I do have a couple of suggestions: I doubled the recipe, and added honey to the bottom of a pyrex dish before microwaving in my stagnant microwave. I found that 5 solid minutes just wont do the trick alone, as it was very dry for my tastes on the edges, but still fairly liquid in the center. Im going to guess that 2.5 minutes, turn, 2.5 minutes would help cook more evenly if your microwave doesn't spin (1.5 for standard directions). Also, using this recipe as a base for strawberry shortcakes or any berry-fruit dessert would be marvelous! Pecans would really bring the flavor out as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I don't know if I did this right or not, but regardless it turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is your basic micreowave sponge cake recipe, not in anyway a pudding, but great and super easy no matter what you want to call it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wow, I saw this and said to myself "there is no way that works." Well, I'm actually totally shocked that it does. My microwave is very strong, so I cooked it at 2:15. Melted a Hershey bar & bam, quickest sweet tooth fix ever! The actual cake w/o the chocolate is pretty dry & unimpressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I have made this a number of times and it's always turned out light and fluffy and tastes delicious. I also add a cup of boiled water mixed with 1Tbsp of brown sugar + 2Tbsp of honey or golden syrup and pour over top before microwaving. This makes the perfect self saucing pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Pretty good for a really quick dessert. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I made some by adding 3/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt to a 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. I also added a small splash of vanilla and about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I dividing the batter among 4 ramekins to make individual servings and microwaved them for 1:45. I thought the cake turned out light and fluffy, but my husband thought it was a bit dry. Topping it with some homemade strawberry jam and a dollop of whipped cream was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I have made this recipe so many times, its delicious. I followed it completly and has turned out fab every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I am looking for microwave recipes so I gave this a try. It was good but a little dry so I only gave it 4 stars. I will try again in the future and lower the cooking time to see if that halps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States