Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Mine did not turn out well, which is probably b/c of the cook, not the recipe. The nuts were chewy and sticky. I didn't use real butter - so that could have been the problem? Def. easy to prepare, may try again around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent. I only made three tweaks. I had a jar of unsalted roasted peanuts, and the hubby will not eat unsalted. So, I decided to try this recipe to use those up. I added about 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper, cooked in the mic. as written, but sprinkled with a little kosher salt after I spread them on the parchment while they were still hot. Delish. Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Great for holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made a batch of these, and I personally thought they were just okay. But I gave most of them to The Woman I Love, and she loved them (she said she'd give them a 5-star rating herself). A friend of hers also tried some and she liked them too. For the record, I used unsalted butter, and I cooked the nuts for a total of 5 minutes. Maybe this turned out wrong for me, but I was expecting a glazed or candy-coated nut, and these were more sugar-coated. They were okay, but I won't make them again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Love the ease of this recipe! Made a half batch using whole almonds (which I toasted ahead of time) and 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp cayenne for the seasoning. Came out pretty well. There was extra glaze that I should have tried to leave in the bottom of the dish instead of pouring it all out onto the parchment paper, but I separated the nuts and it was o.k. Some of the nuts had a thicker coating of the glaze than others, and that glaze doesn't harden completely (it get's caramel-like). I'll definitely use this recipe again, but will tinker with the seasonings to give the nuts more of a flavor kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were ok. I made these at the same time I made the sugar coated pecans from this site. These were done first and I liked them but once the others were done, they were super Yummy while these microwave ones were just ok. Guests thought the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This are very good and so simple. I've made them twice now. The first time was as written. The second time i toasted the nuts first, left out the nutmeg, upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp salt. That made them just the way we like them. Oh, and discovered that if you over cook them (that was 5 minutes in my microwave) they turn out more like a hard glaze then sugared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it lower in carbs. Used 1/3 C. Splenda and added a handful of brown sugar, added 1 t. chili powder, omitted the nutmeg (added a shake of cloves instead); upped cinnamon to 1 1/2 t. Mixed in almonds and salted cashews. YUMMY! I was worried that the Splenda would give an after taste, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this recipe the other night. Very quick. simple and delicious! I definitely recommend roasting the nuts in the oven per previous reviews for 8 or so minutes and doubling the cinnamon. I forgot to add cayenne pepper, but bet that would've indeed given it a very nice kick...will definitely add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I needed a quick gift to take to a holiday party and this was perfect! I've made six batches to replenish for friends and home. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States