Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These turned out perfect. I had never done candied anything before and most of the recipes I found for nuts seemed like they would take forever and turn out like brittle or something. After I turned them out onto the parchment paper I scattered them so they wouldn't stick. After about ten minutes they were dry and not sticky to the touch (something I was worried about) They tasted so yummy. I also found that toasting them for about 5-10 minutes (watching so they dont burn!!) in the oven at 400 f. brought out the flavor or the nuts. Do this step before candying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it lower in carbs. Used 1/3 C. Splenda and added a handful of brown sugar, added 1 t. chili powder, omitted the nutmeg (added a shake of cloves instead); upped cinnamon to 1 1/2 t. Mixed in almonds and salted cashews. YUMMY! I was worried that the Splenda would give an after taste, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
These are excellent and so easy. I toasted walnuts in the oven for a few minutes to make sure they were nice and crunchy. Also added a bit of cayenne to the butter mix to give a subtle bite. Added a light sprinkling of salt after the nuts were resting on the paper. Delicious! I'm packaging these for the family this year instead of all those Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are great! I made them for holiday gifts for the neighbors. I increased the amount of cinnamon, roasted the pecans at 400 for about 7 minutes before starting and then sprinkled with kosher salt afterwards. They turned out really good! And SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Wow!!! Very easy and a sure-fire pleaser. Works great as a last minute Christmas gift, snack for company, or...for yourself! Great flavor. Work good with other types of nuts, too. I used a couple cans of mixed nuts and they were just as good. Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Very good. I used cinnamon, allspice, ginger and a sprinkle of kosher salt to bring out the flavor. I agree with other reviewers that its good to add some extra cinnamon, etc. I think the could have turned out crisper if not prepared in the microwave, but the microwave sure makes it easy. Perhaps I will try pre-toasting the nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've made about six batches of these this year already and am getting ready to make another - they're wonderful! I start w/ pre-toasted nuts (using walnuts 'cause they're the cheapest) which I buy in bulk. When they come out of the microwave I spread them out and immediately sprinkle them lightly with kosher salt. Absolutely delicious! Also, when I buy nuts of any kind I always toast them as soon as I get home, put them into storage containers (zip type baggies) and keep them in the freezer. Nuts keep forever that way and are so much better when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was super easy and tastes really good! The only things I added was 1/4 tsp. of salt to bring out the flavor, and as previously noted, I did toast the nuts at 400F for about 7 minutes. I'll be giving this away for Christmas Gifts! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I just made these and have them cooling now. They are Wonderful!! Made them hoping they would turn out so I could give to co-workers and I really think they will be a hit! The easiest recipe I have ever made Can't believe they turn out in the microwave!! I am sure all microwaves are different but I stoped cooking at 4.5 minutes to be on the safe side with mine and they turned out perfect! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Lynn Newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
2009: PHENOMENAL!!! I substituted orange juice for the water, and 1/2 t Chinese 5 spice powder for 1/2 t cinnamon. I had enough caramel sauce to coat 16 oz (4 cups) of walnuts. The cooking time totaled 5 minutes, and I cooled the nuts on a cookie sheet that I'd sprayed w/ butter-flavor Pam. The nuts were soft while they were hot, but crisped up after they cooled, tho the caramel stayed slightly sticky. DH tasted and thought they needed "something" so I sprinkled the cooled nuts w/ a few good pinches of salt, and that seemed to do the trick. I just packed them back into the original Diamond walnut container (after I covered it in wrapping paper and added ricrac to the lid!). This is a new holiday favorite! 2010: Gave these to a friend who was heading out on the road (apparently they didn't last past the state line...), and to coworkers for Christmas gifts, to RAVE reviews. 2011: One of the guys to whom I gave these last Christmas used his to make baked French toast for their family's Christmas breakfast. I haven't seen him in months, but I got a call from him shortly before this Christmas, asking for this recipe, as his newly pregnant daughter-in-law was asking for his baked French toast with the spiced nuts in it like he'd made last year! 2013: Made these for coworkers for Super Bowl snacks, to the usual rave reviews; used walnuts, pecans and almonds, changed up the spices...I will NEVER tire of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States