Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Made these for a Dad's day party today and of course I had to take a taste. Yum! I used the oven method to make them crispier, doubled the cinnamon and added a touch of cayenne for some zippity-do-da. Nothing like a couple of spicey nuts to get you going. Thanks Jim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Very good. I used cinnamon, allspice, ginger and a sprinkle of kosher salt to bring out the flavor. I agree with other reviewers that its good to add some extra cinnamon, etc. I think the could have turned out crisper if not prepared in the microwave, but the microwave sure makes it easy. Perhaps I will try pre-toasting the nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Thank goodness this is an easy recipe!! I made one batch, for guests, and they were gone in no time. Not only did I have to make more...I also had to print out several copies of the recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Not very good. Not enough flavor. Not enough to cover and stick to the nuts. Also the nuts were soggy, not crisp. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I'm always looking for recipes that add more nuts and cinnamon to our diet since both are very nutritious. This recipe is a keeper! Don't just use it during the holidays. These tasty morsels are great to have around all year long! I did use just a tad less butter and sugar, and doubled the cinnamon. Wonderful and so very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
the best thing that i can say about this recipe is that it is a quick fix to a craving. i was a little disappointed with the flavor; i wanted them a little sweeter. i used curry, cayenne, and ginger, so maybe i just need to add a little more sugar next time. the easiness of this recipe will encourage me to keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Wow!!! Very easy and a sure-fire pleaser. Works great as a last minute Christmas gift, snack for company, or...for yourself! Great flavor. Work good with other types of nuts, too. I used a couple cans of mixed nuts and they were just as good. Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is a great recipe. I really liked it. I did pre-toast the nuts and I added ground ginger. I will probably modify it a bit next time too, as I taste more nut than spice, and I REALLY want the spice! :-) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
My mistake in choosing this recipe was that I was expecting sugared nuts as opposed to glazed nuts. It's still a tasty recipe. With my microwave, the recipe required more cooking time. My glaze didn't set up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was super easy and tastes really good! The only things I added was 1/4 tsp. of salt to bring out the flavor, and as previously noted, I did toast the nuts at 400F for about 7 minutes. I'll be giving this away for Christmas Gifts! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States