Microwave Spiced Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These are great! I made them for holiday gifts for the neighbors. I increased the amount of cinnamon, roasted the pecans at 400 for about 7 minutes before starting and then sprinkled with kosher salt afterwards. They turned out really good! And SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I give it 5 stars due to the ease of this recipe. I have made several batches on these spiced nuts and I always try something a little different with each batch. I slightly toast the nuts before adding to the mixture. I also followed other advice by added a couple of sprinkles of cayenne pepper and have salted the nuts after coming out of the microwave. I have also added in a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batch. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Mine did not turn out well, which is probably b/c of the cook, not the recipe. The nuts were chewy and sticky. I didn't use real butter - so that could have been the problem? Def. easy to prepare, may try again around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Excellent. I only made three tweaks. I had a jar of unsalted roasted peanuts, and the hubby will not eat unsalted. So, I decided to try this recipe to use those up. I added about 1/4 t. of cayenne pepper, cooked in the mic. as written, but sprinkled with a little kosher salt after I spread them on the parchment while they were still hot. Delish. Will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Great for holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made a batch of these, and I personally thought they were just okay. But I gave most of them to The Woman I Love, and she loved them (she said she'd give them a 5-star rating herself). A friend of hers also tried some and she liked them too. For the record, I used unsalted butter, and I cooked the nuts for a total of 5 minutes. Maybe this turned out wrong for me, but I was expecting a glazed or candy-coated nut, and these were more sugar-coated. They were okay, but I won't make them again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Love the ease of this recipe! Made a half batch using whole almonds (which I toasted ahead of time) and 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp cayenne for the seasoning. Came out pretty well. There was extra glaze that I should have tried to leave in the bottom of the dish instead of pouring it all out onto the parchment paper, but I separated the nuts and it was o.k. Some of the nuts had a thicker coating of the glaze than others, and that glaze doesn't harden completely (it get's caramel-like). I'll definitely use this recipe again, but will tinker with the seasonings to give the nuts more of a flavor kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were ok. I made these at the same time I made the sugar coated pecans from this site. These were done first and I liked them but once the others were done, they were super Yummy while these microwave ones were just ok. Guests thought the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This are very good and so simple. I've made them twice now. The first time was as written. The second time i toasted the nuts first, left out the nutmeg, upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp salt. That made them just the way we like them. Oh, and discovered that if you over cook them (that was 5 minutes in my microwave) they turn out more like a hard glaze then sugared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made a few changes to make it lower in carbs. Used 1/3 C. Splenda and added a handful of brown sugar, added 1 t. chili powder, omitted the nutmeg (added a shake of cloves instead); upped cinnamon to 1 1/2 t. Mixed in almonds and salted cashews. YUMMY! I was worried that the Splenda would give an after taste, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States