Microwave Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A good way to get dinner on the table, especially in summer, when time is short. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were great after I mixed in pepper and a can of cream of mushroom....I did add more potatoes and upped the recipe to 8 servings so it wasn't runny because of the added soup. Mix in some shredded cheese at the end and they're even better! Super fast...I have a feeling this will be a go to recipe at the camper this fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Recipe was okay tasting. Don't forget to add the salt, I did to reduce sodium and the potatoes were bland. I added cheese to increase flavor. The dish made a mess in my microwave also. Started spilling out of the bowel. Was okay tasting and left a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought these were pretty good. However note: I had 4 baked potatoes leftover (so mine were already cooked). I just peeled and sliced them. Since the potatoes were already cooked I decided to saute the onion in the butter until softened and I added the salt to that. I cut the amount of salt in half, as I tend to do for most recipes. It was plenty. I added some paprika straight to the flour. I mixed it all together and poured the milk over as directed. I covered it with plastic wrap and microwaved it for 6 minutes. After 3 minutes it was still a little liquidy, so I stirred in another spoonful of flour and put it back in the microwave to finish cooking. It thickened up and was creamy. To add a little more flavor I stirred in about 1/2 cup fine shredded cheddar mixed with jalepeno pepper cheese. Although, it was not needed. Thanks, for a quick and easy side tonight with what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The writer must have a microwave with the wattage of the sun. Took my microwave 45 minutes to cook 4 sliced potatoes in the slew of milk as written. The sauce was bland and common. I'm amazed the cook felt the need to share. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was a decent recipe. I asked my hubby to find a microwave scalloped potatoes recipe since we were short on time. I let him go and this is what he found. Several things we did differently: 1. He forgot to add the butter but it didn't matter in the end and you don't miss it. 2. It took a lot longer to cook in the microwave...and ours is brand new. I probably microwaved it a good 20 minutes more. 3. I added shredded cheese and panko crumbs to the top and broiled it a few minutes until golden brown. 4. We added sliced onions rather than chopped (though I see now it included chopped onions). Delicious. I'd make it again but it's not a quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Awesome recipe! I always want to make Scalloped Potatoes but I am always in a hurry. This recipe tastes just like the baked kind. The only thing I did changed was that I diced the potatoes instead of slicing. It made sense to me because you are stirring them throughout the cooking process. I didn't want to end up with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was fabulous! I can't believe that I didn't have any fresh onion, so I substituted 1 tbsp of onion powder and added a huge scoop of fresh minced garlic. I also used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I had three huge baking potatoes instead of four smaller potatoes, but it didn't make any difference once they were sliced up. My potatoes were done in exactly 15 minutes. Recieved 8 thumbs up...10 thumbs up once I sprinkled a bit of cheese over my 7 year olds plate. This is definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made similar recipes before. I thought it was very good, a bit bland, but it's supposed to be. I used dried parsley on top, and a bit of paprika. They added color and flavor. Microwave ovens can vary a lot in their wattage, and therefore it impacts the cooking times. ALSO very important --- don't make the potato slices too thick! It makes them take too long to cook. Keep them a uniform thickness, it helps. And stir every 5 minutes, as the recipe states. I used only about half of the salt, as I don't like it. Hubby loved it, too. Yummy! : ) post by Fun2cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this...(Finally figured out to avoid boil over)...I do not use optional items, but add cubed ham for additional flavor. I microwave UNCOVERED for about 5 mins. on high power (1000 watt oven), stir, then micro 5 mins. more at 70% power; stir again and micro 5 mins. +/-longer at 60% power. This way, there is no splatter or boil over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States