Microwave Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was looking for a scallop potato recipe to cook in my microwave as I didn't want to heat up the house with the oven. It was 97 degrees AND humid today! This fit the bill; it was delicious and cut the cooking time drastically. Just one note though, if you're watching your salt cut in half or even more. I used 1 t. salt and it was still plenty salty. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaAnaDana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Sooo good!! I added some cubed ham to the mix, making it a complete meal and family loved it! HD said I can make these for dinner anytime lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This came out great and so easy. I used onion powder instead of fresh onion and baked in the oven for 15 minutes after microwaving just to brown a bit and crisp the top but, I'm sure it would have been just as good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These turned out great! Didn't have enough room in the oven so I found this recipe as my Plan B. I used half milk and half cream and added a good sprinkle of garlic powder. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this...(Finally figured out to avoid boil over)...I do not use optional items, but add cubed ham for additional flavor. I microwave UNCOVERED for about 5 mins. on high power (1000 watt oven), stir, then micro 5 mins. more at 70% power; stir again and micro 5 mins. +/-longer at 60% power. This way, there is no splatter or boil over for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made similar recipes before. I thought it was very good, a bit bland, but it's supposed to be. I used dried parsley on top, and a bit of paprika. They added color and flavor. Microwave ovens can vary a lot in their wattage, and therefore it impacts the cooking times. ALSO very important --- don't make the potato slices too thick! It makes them take too long to cook. Keep them a uniform thickness, it helps. And stir every 5 minutes, as the recipe states. I used only about half of the salt, as I don't like it. Hubby loved it, too. Yummy! : ) post by Fun2cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was fabulous! I can't believe that I didn't have any fresh onion, so I substituted 1 tbsp of onion powder and added a huge scoop of fresh minced garlic. I also used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I had three huge baking potatoes instead of four smaller potatoes, but it didn't make any difference once they were sliced up. My potatoes were done in exactly 15 minutes. Recieved 8 thumbs up...10 thumbs up once I sprinkled a bit of cheese over my 7 year olds plate. This is definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Awesome recipe! I always want to make Scalloped Potatoes but I am always in a hurry. This recipe tastes just like the baked kind. The only thing I did changed was that I diced the potatoes instead of slicing. It made sense to me because you are stirring them throughout the cooking process. I didn't want to end up with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was a decent recipe. I asked my hubby to find a microwave scalloped potatoes recipe since we were short on time. I let him go and this is what he found. Several things we did differently: 1. He forgot to add the butter but it didn't matter in the end and you don't miss it. 2. It took a lot longer to cook in the microwave...and ours is brand new. I probably microwaved it a good 20 minutes more. 3. I added shredded cheese and panko crumbs to the top and broiled it a few minutes until golden brown. 4. We added sliced onions rather than chopped (though I see now it included chopped onions). Delicious. I'd make it again but it's not a quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
The writer must have a microwave with the wattage of the sun. Took my microwave 45 minutes to cook 4 sliced potatoes in the slew of milk as written. The sauce was bland and common. I'm amazed the cook felt the need to share. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States