Microwave Raisin Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe is great for a quick "southern comfort" dessert. I made a few adjustments based on what was in my pantry and the suggestions others made: 1.) I cut back the number of bread slices to 12 because I like more of a "custard" based bread pudding. I used Ezekiel frozen cinnamon raisin bread that I toasted a little to thaw and the taste was wonderful 2.) I used half brown sugar/half white sugar for the sugar and cinnamon sprinkled over the cubed bread. Next time, I'm going to try just 1/4 c brown sugar with the cinnamon because it was a little too sweet. 3.) Instead of raisins, I used dried blueberries. They have so much flavor and made for a nice tart contrast to the sweet bread. 4.) I used my corning ware with a glass lid instead of plastic wrap in the microwave. I served it with homemade whipped cream and my guests finished the entire dish. Thanks for the great idea of making this yummy classic in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This tasted ok while it was still warm out of the microwave, but it was too thick. The recipe calls for too much bread. I know micro times vary, but I cooked this on med heat for 15 min, and it was too dry and overdone. The next day I tossed it--it was just too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made this for a girls' night and it was a big hit. My roommate warned me not to make it anymore because it just put him in a coma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was overall a good recipe. It is almost as good as one with heavy cream, real butter and a long baking time. You do need to mix a little of the hot milk mix with the egg to avoid bits of cooked egg. I also had bits of hard dry bread on the top like maybe I used too much? I also made a quick sauce of caro syrup maple syrup some spiced rum and some butter which I poured over the top. This helped with the dryness. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is very easy as I always have a loaf in the feezer. Quick to make when unexpected guest drop in. I would suggest that the lass who had bits of uncooked egg through the dish she take a spoon full of the hot mixture , mix it in with the egg before adding the egg. This witth stop that problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I cut the sugar in half and it still turns out awesome. LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was alright. I got little bits of cooked egg. But other than that, not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Really nice with whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States