Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Looked great until I added the pecans and it turned into a crumbly mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is an awesomely easy & delectable way to make pralines! I love to make homemade gifts for Christmas and these are definitely on the list now! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I halved this recipe and wish I had microwaved it less than the 6 minutes I did. If they were a little softer I would have been happier, but that wasn’t the recipe’s fault. They were very easy and quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was a great success! I followed the review to microwave everything together but saved the butter to stir in after it came out. I also added a pinch of salt and some vanilla extract. I will definitely make these again because they are so good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Let me begin by saying that my pralines came out perfect; creamy, smooth, and delicious. I have a 1200 watt microwave and it took 8 minutes total cooking time. I stirred in the pecans and 1/4 tsp. of salt about mid-way through the cooking time. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract after cooking. I also did the soft ball stage test in ice water. Do yourself a favor and do not even attempt to make these until you know your microwave's wattage. Look inside your microwave for a label that will have the model number. Then do a search online to see what wattage you have. I believe this recipe is geared to around a 1,000 watt microwaves. If your microwave has less than 1,000 watts you may have to cook longer. If your microwave is more than 1,000 watts you will most likely have to cook less. I'm guessing that the people who had trouble with these do not know the power of their microwaves plus they did not do the soft ball stage test. Too bad because these are incredibly delicious if cooked right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
The taste was awesome but I think my microwave is too powerful. I did mine 15 minutes thinking 13 didn't quite sound like enough. Mine were not smooth and creamy. I will make them again and adjust the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
1 LB of brown sugar= 3 1/2 cups This recipie was so easy!! I put everything in the microwave at once like some of the other reviews said and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Super recipe! This is the first time I have made these in the microwave. It will be the only way I make them now. The only change I made is to add a pinch of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was really delicious and decadent. The only reason I give it 4 stars rather than 5 is that I did use the helpful comments of other reviewers. Specifically, I mixed all ingredients together at the beginning and then microwaved for 9 min. Checked for soft ball stage every minute or two after that by putting a drop into cold water. Also, I didn't have corn syrup so used 2 Tbsp pancake syrup which the ingredient list indicated was basically corn syrup with flavorings. Added a pinch of creme of tartar as recommended below. Anyway, with these changes, it was very easy and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These are very easy and fool proof. If they start to get hard before you get them dropped (onto lightly buttered foil or wax paper) just put them back in the microwave and heat as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States