Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
really yummy! everyone at our family Christmas loved them. There was advice I followed about putting the mixing bowl in an ice/cold water bath. I wouldn't do that next time because, though the first 3/4 or so turned out great-smooth and matte, the others were too cold-so they looked rough and were not attractive. Thankfully they tasted the same though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flatroad12
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
First I made 4 separate batches. I tried whipping cream, half and half, and margarine and butter. I tried various combinations to see what I liked better. All came out excellent, but I preferred butter with half and half. I am from New Orleans and this recipe is fantastic and just as good as any traditional recipe!! Later I made 5 more batches and this is what happened. The first 2 did not firm up well. I just scooped them back I the bowl and remicrowaved them. They came out great. I then tripled the recipe to make another large batch. I was very careful because I wasn't sure if this batch would set up. I microwaved it about 30 min in all and kept checking and stirring. About 3-4 times in all. I also used the trick from another reviewer and dropped a tad in ice water. When it balled up, I knew it was ready. This was the best batch of all!!! They we're lose enough to allow the praline to spread out like a traditional praline does. Also, on the others, I did not butter the parchment paper and they were fine, but it is definitely easier and comes out nicer if you butter the paper prior. This is a FANTASTIC and EASY recipe!!! I will NEVER make pralines on the stove again!!! Highly recommend!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Wow. I've never made pralines but I've eaten my share. These were so easy and very delicious. I used butter and stirred for about 5 minutes. I ended up with 12 good sized pralines. Delicious. I'll add these to my Christmas goodie bags. I think everyone will be very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe last night. And it turned out great. It was extremely simple with a beautiful color. My mom is 72 years young and used to the original stove top version. And she loved it!!! So it will be a great dish over the holidays! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
The flavor was fine, but texture was like brittle. Also my microwave was smoking. I thought the one person who had made that review had made a mistake but it seems that the pecans are burning in the microwave. Thirdly, I buttered the wax paper and they still stuck to the paper. So just be aware that they will stick to the wax paper and keep an eye on your microwave if you make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Great!I did use real butter instead of margarine as well as the ice bath recommended by others. Added some Amarula cream liquor with the vanilla before stirring. Either I didn't cook it long enough or the alcohol just prevents it from setting as firm. Soft or not, they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I grew up in New Orleans and have eaten a truck load of pralines in my time...this recipe makes the chore easy and tastes pretty authentic! You will probably have to adjust your cook time depending on your microwave - my first batch was too dry to hold together. I cut back the time by 1 minute and they came out perfect. My only other advice is to choose the best quality pecans available...they really will make-or-break the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These were AMAZING! I did the recipe in an 1100W microwave, and I followed it exactly, and they were really good! The only thing I will do different is that I would definatley make the pecans smaller, and work a lot quicker! I stirred for 1 minute and it was already getting hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I usually follow the recipe exactly as it is written the first time and tweak later if needed for my tastes. Had to use 1/2 cup of white sugar because I ran out of brown and I used butter. Cooked in my 950 watt microwave in a 2.5 quart bowl for 10 minutes with no burning or bubbling over. I added the pecans after the cooking time and I forgot to let it rest. They still turned out like they were suppose to. Seems like a pretty fool proof recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Took these to a New Orleans party at the home of folks born and raised there. I asked what they thought - and she would be honest - both husband and wife thought they were better than what they normally buy there to bring home. She asked for the recipe! My only modifications: I used chopped pecans, and I only cooked for eight minutes. It did take longer than three minutes to cool enough - about six, I would say. I made them small for the party and got 32 pieces (and came home with none.) If this recipe doesn't work for you the first time, it is definitely worth trying again using some of the modifications suggested in the reviews. This recipe is going in my "favorites" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States