Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT. TWO THINGS I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THOUGH. FIRST OF ALL THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME ATTEMPTING TO MAKE PRALINES SO I MADE NO CLUE JUST HOW MUCH THE WEATHER CAN AFFECT THESE. IF IT IS RAINY OR THERE IS TO MUCH HUMIDITY, THEN MOST LIKELY THEY WILL NOT SET. WELL THIS IS FOR LOUISIANA, IM NOT SURE ABOUT OTHER PLACES. SECOND, I WAS HAVING THE WORST TIME WITH THESE AT FIRST. I DIDNT KNOW HOW LONG TO MICROWAVE THEM FOR TO GET THEM RIGHT. THEN MY MOM GAVE ME THE BEST ADVICE. YOU TAKE A CUP OF ICE WATER; DROP A SMALL AMOUNT OF THE MIX IN THE WATER. IF IT HARDENS UP INTO A BALL, IT IS READY. IF NOT, IT NEEDS TO BE MICROWAVE FOR LONGER. ONCE I GOT IT RIGHT THESE WERE GREAT AND GONE IN A DAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Luling, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe is awesome!!! First of all, this is so easy. I made pralines "the other way"-on the stove with a candy thermometer--never again. Second, the pralines melt in your mouth, are not grainy, and are not too sweet. I did have to perfect the recipe to my microwave, however. I had to microwave for a total of 12 minutes, and I did not stir for the whole three minutes. I also must make my pralines too big b/c the most I ever got out of the recipe was 28. I made this about a dozen times this year for Christmas gifts. It takes me 20 minutes start to finish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I was a little worried about making these as so many people had issues with the microwave times. I have a 1000 watt microwave and cooked them on high for 4 minutes then stirred, and then cooked another 5 minutes. They turned out perfectly! I'm in Florida, and although its not real humid right now in Dec., these still turned out just fine with all the windows open! I think my best Christmas gift will be seeing the look on my mothers face since she has tried had failed so many times attempting to make pralines! Also, I don't know how you could possibly get 3 dozen out of this recipe, I got 1 dozen smaller than New Orleans style pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
These are VERY good! Used real butter instead of margerine. My only problem was that they started to firm up quicker than I could spoon them out...so I dumped it all on the wax paper and separated it with spoons. Much simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I combined all of the ingredients excluding vanilla, and proceeded to microwave...I had stirred the mixture about 4 minutes into the 9 min time frame, and everything appeared fine, but at 6 minutes, smoke fills the entire house. Apparently... 9 min. was too long for my microwave...Be very careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I used half and half by mistake, and they turned out beautifully. I would coarsely chop the pecans next time so they are easier for the kids to eat, but overall, these are our new Christmas favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These are pretty good. I was expecting something more like the ones in the pralines and cream ice cream, but they were still pretty good. They are really simple to make and turn out well. Next time I might use 2 cups of the pecans instead of 1 1/2 because it made quite a bit of sauce and was just a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum. Pralines are easy to make in the microwave but you have to watch your time. I zapped them for 3 minutes to start, stirred, then 3 minutes more. After that I took them out every minute and checked the temp with a candy therm until they reached 240 degrees, then added the vanilla and did the stirring (it did take 9 minutes of cook time for me). Three minutes of stirring was just about right. You want to stop stirring just when they start to look cloudy and start firming up a bit. Drop them on parchment as quick as you can, the remaining mixture will continue to harden as it sits, making it harder to scoop. If it seizes up on you or gets too hard, add a spoonful of very hot water and stir until it loosens up. I used an average sized cereal spoon to scoop and got about 2 dozen. Try dipping these in the "Hard Chocolate Glaze" once they are cool, it looks very fancy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Delicioso!!! I made full size pralines & only got 9, but that's OK! I prefer pecan pieces instead of halves- but either way is yum! The only minor gripe I have is I like them a little firmer- I 'll try cooking them an extra minute or so next time. But they did set up- I had to cool & stir a few times to get it the right consistency ( thick with a dull finish ) I do like the yield of this recipe- no chance of a boil over! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Not for all microwaves. After 9 minutes, several of the pecan halves were burned and the mixture solidified almost immediately. I will stick to the old fashioned way of making them. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States