Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I spent some time in Chaeleston South Carolina. These are very popular there. That was 4 years ago, and I think about there pralines all the time. This may sound goofy since these are made in a microwave, but WOW they are really good. They taste very close to the ones I ate in Charleston. Great recipe!!! Absolutely delicious. Make these you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This were super delicious, my first attempt at making pralines of any ilk. I did use butter, 'cause I have no use for margarine unless I intend to lube my car! I did 4 minutes, stir, then 5 minutes, checked with the cold water for softball stage, did for one more minute. They were a little grainy, but not bad, and who knows, with how I did them perhaps that contributed. All in all, an excellent, almost instant dessert with minimum fuss and only a couple of dirty dishes! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is the recipe that my Paw Paw has used for years and he is from the New Orleans area. They are requested in mass orders during the holidays. A few key things to remember: High humidity will delay the sitting process, placing the wax paper on kitchen towels may help. Be sure that the cream (half & half) is very fresh and cold and to seal them in AIR TIGHT containers as soon as they cool to prolong shelf life. If they start to crystalize later, place them in a food processor/chopper to chop up and add to homemade vanilla ice cream or top off your favorite ice cream or desserts with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great recipe! I use it every year for my Christmas baskets. I follow the recipe and I have never had a batch that didn't turn out! They are so easy and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Yummy & easy! Came out great! The second time I made them I was out of vanilla, so I sprinkled some cinnamon in it and they were yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I followed the directions exactly & got a crumbly, sandy, hard mass of sadness. I LOVE pralines & was extremely disappointed that this recipe didn't work. SAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I thought these were a little sweet and sugary but this is my first foray into Pralines period. After commenting to my mother that I thought they were sugary she said that is what Pralines are like. So I guess just not for me...but I am giving them in my Christmas basket for people. They were extremely easy to make and I can't wait to see what others think of them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLIEDREAMING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blairsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clymer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good and very easy but, I think I'm spoiled. My mama's were the painstaking kind with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
For quick and easy (which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 3), these were pretty good. However, they really don't compare to the Texas Pralines found on this site. They taste OK but are grainy and crumbly. I may make them again if I'm in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I followed this recipe to the T however the pralines were still very runny (thinking it was the heavy cream that caused this) and never hardened. They did smell good however since I added 100% pure vanilla from Mexico, ummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States