Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are absolutely what I have been looking for for about 20 years since I lost the recipe that I used for my sister in laws wedding. They turn out perfect every time if you do exactly as the recipe suggest. I made 50 large ones in about 1 hr for my sons wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super easy, but after adding the vanilla the mix began to dry up almost right away. By the time I got them all onto the paper they were totally dry. But they still tasted really really good, not grainy or chewy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I just got finished trying these out and I couldn't have stirred for 3 minutes because the sugar started getting grainy. Not sure what I did wrong but I will it again. Mayber one minute less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I almost gave up on this recipe because 1) I changed the heavy cream to fat free half and half, 2) I used canola butter spread instead of margarine, and 3) I have a really cheap microwave that apparently has low wattage. My result was a runny basically caramel sauce. I used the time as directed, stirred for three minute intervals (I lost track of how many times I waited 30 seconds). I reheated the mixture to see if some of the liquid would evaporate, and it helped. I thought I had the right consistency (it was not as runny), but it did not set and stuck to the buttered wax paper. However, I was determined to make this work, so I came back to it after a couple hours, scraped off the unset piles of sauce and pecans, and threw it back in the microwave for another 3:30 minutes. It was really bubbly when it came out, and the bubbles did not dissipate until I stirred it. I knew something had changed because as I kept stirring, the mixture became stickier and I was not able to scrap the sides of the mixing bowl as easily. Suddenly, after 4 minutes of stirring, the consistency was semi-hard, but pliable, and that is when I realized that I had a batch of pralines! I believe the key to my dilemma was the wattage on the microwave and basic patience. Keep trying if it does not work, it might be that you need to microwave it for much longer than 9 minutes, and you can always put it back in the microwave until it is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes! I am now famous for my "homemade pralines"! I have a pretty powerful microwave, so I microwave 4 min., stir, and micorwave one minute more. They are creamy and fabulous. I have to hide them from my husband or he will eat the whole batch in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were very easy and quick to make. They also taste very good. I like mine to be soft and more creamy and these were a little very sticky and chewy. Be careful if you have fillings in your teeth. They are still quite good though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingMomma23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe is so easy you can afford to blow the first batch (some darn fine ice cream topping it was. I am from La. and thought it couldn't be done with pralines, but it's a bona fide microwave recipe. Watch your time -- don't go much beyond 234 degrees, and you may need to cut the last stir step to 2 minutes. Don't be tempted to overdo the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
First time to make pralines. I followed recipe exactly but mine were very runny, about like a loose pecan pie filling. Absolutely delicious, but had to be scraped up with a spoon and eaten. The only thing I can figure out is my microwave (which is not as hot as most) was the culprit. I gave 4 stars only because of the final consistency, otherwise they are a perfect 5 Star. If I could figure out how to make them firm up I would make them again and again. I like the taste better than any I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I tried these and they were a flop. Surely I did something wrong because they had a five star rating. They set up too fast, turned black and even smelled burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very tasty. However, mine needed to cook longer and took longer than 3 mins to thicken sufficiently. I added some extra nuts and that helped. Family loved them. The recipe made 36 very small pralines, but they are quite rich - a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States