Microwave Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Incredibly easier than other recipes and delicious. My microwave is slower (850 watts), and the time specified here was perfect, so for a newer, faster microwave, I would watch the mixture carefully. My "gold standard" in Pralines are those from River Street Sweets in Savannah and Charleston. These had the same texture and balance of candy to pecans, but were darker in color and the taste from the brown sugar was distinct. I watched them made at the store, and they used all white sugar. On my next attempt at this recipe, I will try 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, adjusting until I can get as close as possible to the ones I bought from River Street Sweets, even if I eventually modify the recipe to use all white sugar. And wow, I'll enjoy the experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brewster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This recipe was excellent as is. Made it a 2nd time and tried stirring in chocolate chips during the 3 minute cool down. Complete disaster! Mxture became crumbly and ugly. Still tasty though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Fast, easy, and perfect. No need for a candy thermometer AND no need to change any of the ingredients or instructions. I made these on a cold & snowy winter day and they were gone before they were completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
THESE=AMAZING! I only had one cup of brown sugar, so I used 1/2 c. of white sugar. I also added a splash of Crown Royal from my husband's bar. I ended up microwaving for 12 minutes, stirring every 3 minutes. After twelve minutes, I stirred for 3 minutes straight, and dropped onto cookie sheet with my cookie dough dropper. It made 12 big and delicious pralines, which tasted better than my stove-top pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I LOVE these and try to make them each Christmas, and then try NOT to eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have never posted a bad review till now! I tried these EXACTLY as the recipe is &I checked my candy with a candy thermometer & the temp.was correct but the sugar was still very grainy &I then when you add vanilla it dries it out terribly! I would recommend leaving out vanilla completely, cooking longer with leaving the pecans out so not to burn them &their putting them in last. I will stick to stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good. The first time I went 9 minutes in my little microwave and had some trouble getting them to set up. So next time I decided to go with 12 minutes..not a good idea. They turned into powder on me before I could get them spooned out. To the consistency of brown sugar :( Taste was great on the first batch, going to try again with maybe 10 minutes. Using Mini muffin pan this time instead of leting them spread of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Actually, I have a question about this recipe. Is this LIGHT brown sugar or DARK? And someone mentioned covering the microwave bowl with plastic wrap. Do I do this, or leave it open? Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
dont make on a rainy day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States