Microwave Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe has to have 5 stars for keeping my husband entertained for a full hour! I printed off the recipe just to try and he saw it and just marched off to the kitchen. These came out quite well, but we ended up cooking them on a greased plate, not on parchment paper as the chips did stick a bit. 8 mins is far too long though, we were cooking ours for 4 and a half mins and they were very evenly browned. This could take a bit long if you wanted say a packet worth of chips, so good thing we just ate them while the next batch was cooking! Thanks for a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I didn't use parchment paper. I cleaned the glass turntable from my microwave, sprayed it with Pam layed my chips out then sprayed the tops of them. Cook as instructed. Everyone loves them. Also good with flavored popcorn salt. Ranch was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe is great. We tried different ways to cook them, on a plate with pam sprayed on them, on a microwave bacon plate with EVOO on them and we also soaked them in vinegar then salted them. Yummm. Also did this with apple slices and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar so GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were wonderful! I used a vegetable peeler in order to get potato chips which were literally paper thin-- it really improved their crunch! I also tried sea salt, which was delicious. However, when you make them, IGNORE the cooking time completely. Stand there and just watch them. When they are browned, crispy, and fragrant, they're done. It took only 2 min. for mine to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My sister & i were searching on allrecipes for something to fix the kids we were babysitting for dinner. This is the perfect recipe. Even though it isn't meant to be a dinner recipe, it worked perfectly!! It is really easy I made this recipe with the potatoes i had on hand, (which were red skin potatoes) and they were D-LICIOUS!!! This is a make again recipe and i suggest that EVERYONE will at least try this recipe. You will definately want to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These are FABULOUS! Leave skins on Russets. Tried yams but didn't like them much. They're worth the effort. Mine took about 4 min. per batch. Served for company, all ages, and they loved 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These worked very well for us. I used parchment that I lightly sprayed with cooking spray. The first batch I cut with a vegetable peeler, as suggested by another reviewer, sprinkled with sea salt, and they cooked very quickly. To save some effort, I made the second batch with the 2mm disc of my food processor. They took several minutes longer to cook, but were just as tasty. Also, I did not have to re-spray the paper and I used it several times. I think a mandoline that can slice as thin as the vegetable peeler would be ideal for prepping. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I think I'm going to do salt and vinegar next time. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These chips turned out great! I used smart balance cooking spray and sea salt. This recipe is really hard to mess up...I don't understand the negative comments...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartens815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
WE LOVE THESE!! They are really excellent crunchy potato chips that we don't have to feel guilt about eating! We used large, fresh russets sliced thin w/ a sharp knife. We alternated the thickness just to see & like them thick & thin. Sprayed a large microwave safe plate with Pam, layed out the chips & microwaved for 9 minutes. They are crisp, brown & delicious. Our 2nd batch we sprayed them w/ olive oil Pam & salted w/ Sea Salt. The 3rd batch we used Barbeque seasoning. ALL ARE A HIT AT OUR HOUSE!! We were snowed in so this was fun entertainment too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States