Microwave Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I didn't use parchment paper. I cleaned the glass turntable from my microwave, sprayed it with Pam layed my chips out then sprayed the tops of them. Cook as instructed. Everyone loves them. Also good with flavored popcorn salt. Ranch was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were wonderful! I used a vegetable peeler in order to get potato chips which were literally paper thin-- it really improved their crunch! I also tried sea salt, which was delicious. However, when you make them, IGNORE the cooking time completely. Stand there and just watch them. When they are browned, crispy, and fragrant, they're done. It took only 2 min. for mine to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe has to have 5 stars for keeping my husband entertained for a full hour! I printed off the recipe just to try and he saw it and just marched off to the kitchen. These came out quite well, but we ended up cooking them on a greased plate, not on parchment paper as the chips did stick a bit. 8 mins is far too long though, we were cooking ours for 4 and a half mins and they were very evenly browned. This could take a bit long if you wanted say a packet worth of chips, so good thing we just ate them while the next batch was cooking! Thanks for a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
FINALLY!! I make chips once in a while, but I have a little kitchen gadget for that. But I never know the exact time and method, I have to just try and see. It is also more time consuming. So, now I tried this method which proved to be the best. I just sliced the potato with my chips slicer, without peeling as in the picture. Sprayed my parchment paper with vegetable oil. Seasoned the chips. Placed the slices without overlaying or touching. Covered them with parchment. All they needed was about 4 minutes WHILE WATCHING THEM and checking on them every 1.5 minute or so. Once they are golden, that is it. They are healthy, delicious and quick, took 10 minutes from start to finish to make 2 small potatoes. I LOVE chips, but I try to avoid them since I like to keep fit and healthy. Now, I don't have to feel guilty. I am eating them while typing this review! YUMMY! A quick update, I have made this recipe a number of times and became an expert so I took it to class and taught my students and they gave their parents the recipe and they are all making home-made chips guilt-free! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe is great. We tried different ways to cook them, on a plate with pam sprayed on them, on a microwave bacon plate with EVOO on them and we also soaked them in vinegar then salted them. Yummm. Also did this with apple slices and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar so GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Tastes like a baked potato chip. Be sure to use a serated knife and cut as thin as possible, almost transparent. Spray a plate with cooking spray and lay the chips hanging over the edge. This will give them a curl; then spray the chips and salt if desired. Cook for about 2 1/2 minutes and turn. No need to spray again. Continue cooking and turning every couple minutes until they appear done. It's important that you cook them until they are crispy or they will not taste good. This is very time consuming but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These turned out terribly- They stuck to the parchment paper and tasted aweful. Id recommend to use a tsp of oil- but, that recipe already exhists so this one would be obsolete. Well- No point really trying to make potato chips using this recipe, it doesnt work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was ok....I think what bothered me was that I could not put large batches in the micowave. It took me like an hour to make this bc i had to oil the potatos and make sure the color was golden when it came out. It took about 7-9 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Finding myself with one, lonely potato, this provided our evening's recreation (we're easily amused). We cooked these on parchment paper sprayed lightly with Pam. Watch carefully so they don't burn. Once cooked, watch how quickly one lonely potato disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My sister & i were searching on allrecipes for something to fix the kids we were babysitting for dinner. This is the perfect recipe. Even though it isn't meant to be a dinner recipe, it worked perfectly!! It is really easy I made this recipe with the potatoes i had on hand, (which were red skin potatoes) and they were D-LICIOUS!!! This is a make again recipe and i suggest that EVERYONE will at least try this recipe. You will definately want to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States