Microwave Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made sweet potato ones and they are fantastic! Sweet and salty. Yum! :) I used Becel spray and sea salt to keep them from sticking to the plate. I find that they crisp up a bit after you take them out. I guess they keep cooking a smidge after you take them out. Even the softer ones crisped up after a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So good and so easy! I used some cooking spray on the parchment paper since the potatoes stuck to the paper the first time I tried this recipe. You can reuse the paper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Rivers
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Go easy on the salt...I used a bit much on the first batch. Otherwise they turned out super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
FINALLY!! I make chips once in a while, but I have a little kitchen gadget for that. But I never know the exact time and method, I have to just try and see. It is also more time consuming. So, now I tried this method which proved to be the best. I just sliced the potato with my chips slicer, without peeling as in the picture. Sprayed my parchment paper with vegetable oil. Seasoned the chips. Placed the slices without overlaying or touching. Covered them with parchment. All they needed was about 4 minutes WHILE WATCHING THEM and checking on them every 1.5 minute or so. Once they are golden, that is it. They are healthy, delicious and quick, took 10 minutes from start to finish to make 2 small potatoes. I LOVE chips, but I try to avoid them since I like to keep fit and healthy. Now, I don't have to feel guilty. I am eating them while typing this review! YUMMY! A quick update, I have made this recipe a number of times and became an expert so I took it to class and taught my students and they gave their parents the recipe and they are all making home-made chips guilt-free! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I read all the reviews and used the tips and the potato chips turned out very nice. They tasted just like store bought, and the low price of just having to buy a potato is definitely a bonus. Make sure to use a GREASED plate. These are great for experimenting with, and they are very easy. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
WE LOVE THESE!! They are really excellent crunchy potato chips that we don't have to feel guilt about eating! We used large, fresh russets sliced thin w/ a sharp knife. We alternated the thickness just to see & like them thick & thin. Sprayed a large microwave safe plate with Pam, layed out the chips & microwaved for 9 minutes. They are crisp, brown & delicious. Our 2nd batch we sprayed them w/ olive oil Pam & salted w/ Sea Salt. The 3rd batch we used Barbeque seasoning. ALL ARE A HIT AT OUR HOUSE!! We were snowed in so this was fun entertainment too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I can't imagine these working for anyone. I tried these and the potatoes got brown before they could get crispy. Very unappetizing. Some of the chips started sticking to the parchment paper. I followed the directions. Too much trouble for the terrible end results. I will stick with Lay's fat free store bought chips. Thanks anyway. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These chips turned out great! I used smart balance cooking spray and sea salt. This recipe is really hard to mess up...I don't understand the negative comments...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartens815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I think I'm going to do salt and vinegar next time. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These worked very well for us. I used parchment that I lightly sprayed with cooking spray. The first batch I cut with a vegetable peeler, as suggested by another reviewer, sprinkled with sea salt, and they cooked very quickly. To save some effort, I made the second batch with the 2mm disc of my food processor. They took several minutes longer to cook, but were just as tasty. Also, I did not have to re-spray the paper and I used it several times. I think a mandoline that can slice as thin as the vegetable peeler would be ideal for prepping. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States