Microwave Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These are the best right out of the microwave!! I didn't cut my paper thin so it took longer to "cook". Used Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. A great snack for low cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Finally I can make a chip that my husband can eat. He has end stage kidney failure and can only have potatoes that have been soaked in water all day, and then cooked. (soaking lowers the potassium) This is a healthy recipe for any one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
to say the very least this was an interesting experience.. unfortunately i had the same problem of the potatoes sticking to the parchment paper as some of the others.. i even oiled it a bit.. think i'll stick to regular potato chips or if i want to be healthy i'll buy the baked ones.. i'm gna partially blame my microwave.. the thing is cheap and old.. bf said maybe i didn't slice them thin enough.. but that was the thinnest setting on my mandolin slicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really good! I'm trying to live and eat healthier and this was just the thing I needed for my salty/crunchy craving I just had. Literally eating them as I type. Hope to try different seasonings in the future too. I read that soaking them in vinegar and then sprinkling them with sea salt is amazing. I did as others had suggested and used a plate sprayed with cooking spray.They browned up in about 4 1/2 minutes in my microwave. I didn't have a potato peeler or mandolin as others suggested using. So I used a sharp kitchen knife and cut my potatoes as thin as I could. Still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These were great. I used a microwave bacon plate as another reviewer suggested. It took about 5 minutes in my microwave. Everyone asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just tried this recipe and the parchment paper caught on fire and burned up my microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe turned out well. Like other reviewers, I recommend just watching and not really timing it. Red potatoes work as well as gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Why haven't I ever heard of this method of making chips? I just tried it, and they are easy and yummy! We all love potato chips at our house but try not to have them too often due to the fat content, but this recipe is a game changer! Can't wait for the kids to get home from school to try them. I used my mandolin, sprayed my parchment with olive oil, sprinkled some sea salt and seasoning on and within a few minutes had delicious healthy potato chips. I am soaking some potato slices in vinegar now to try making salt and vinegar chips (my kids' favorite)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Lotta work for a few chips that really aren't as good as commercially produced chips unless you get your cooking method perfectly dialed. Gotta be SUPER attentive to the process. If you let them cook even five or ten seconds too long, they're shot. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I used regular Idaho potatoes and sea salt. I followed the suggestions of spraying my large microwave turn table with cooking spray (I used canola) first and using the vegetable/potato peeler to get really thin slices. I can't believe how crispy and delicious these came out. You should've seen my husband's face when he tried one. He went in and grabbed the peeler to make another batch right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States