Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used Orville's popcorn and vegetable oil, I stood the bag upright with two small folds, it stayed closed but still let the steam out. Update: I've made this so many times now, I only put a tiny bit of oil in my kernels, less than an 1/2 tsp. and works out fine...less calories, use fine popcorn salt and add it to the bag before popping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It works well. I still prefer my popcorn made in a pan, it seems to come out better (but with more fat since you need more oil). One thing to take note of, the first time I tried this recipe I didn't have a paper bag. So, I put it in a large microwave safe bowl with a plate over it for a lid. I took it out when it was done and let it sit. After about 30 seconds, the bowl exploded spraying popcorn and glass everywhere which took me a half hour to clean up. Be careful with this if you choose to use a bowl like others have said they've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is great! Love the method and the fact I can skip the fat and salt. I did not use oil, many have successfully, but I thought it was a bit risky. I folded the bag over twice - no staple needed. The 1/2 cup of popcorn was a bit much and burned a bit. I backed it down to 1/3 cup and zapped it for 2 minutes. Just right for my oven. Gonna make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I love that you posted this recipe, it worked great with & without the oil!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBabii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I use a quarter cup popcorn, no oil, no salt for a 1:45 minutes. I guess it depends on the popcorn & how big your bag is, but that's all that will fit once popped. I just lay it flat, kind of like the storebought microwave kind, with the folded side down. Let it sit till you don't hear any more popping. Pour in a bowl, shot of butterflavored spray & a little salt. Toss & repeat. 'Seems oil & salt in the microwave aren't good ideas. Oil & paper? I'm thinking fire. Salt zapping the food you hear about all the time - to wait to add it till it's done. :? :) ... Anyway, that's how this girl does it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It works! This is great - you can make salt free popcorn if you have to watch your sodium intake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I hate the microwave popcorn that comes from the grocery store and usually make my popcorn stove top;but, that takes a bit more time, so I gave this a try. It is great! Be sure to mix the ingredients in a bowl first. I was lazy and tried mixing it right in the bag and while it did work, it clumped in the bottom. The second batch was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I love this method of making popcorn because I can control the fat and salt! It's less expensive than buying pre-packaged microwave popcorn. I usually fold the bag once and add 1 staple. It never sparks in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
simple and easy to make with almost no prep and no clean up. I didn't put anything on the popcorn and it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Easy, inexpensive, and yummy! I do not use oil to cook but spray with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Spray when it comes out of the microwave. It only takes a few sprays, and it also helps the salt stick to it. What a super snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States