Microwave Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I was always too scared to try this based on the reviews from people who said that their microwaves blew up or the bags started on fire. (However, I think the reviewer who suggested that it's because of people using recycled bags has some merit.) Anyway, I finally tried this without oil -- just 1/4 C. of popcorn in the bag, folded it over, and stood it in the microwave. It took 1.5 minutes to be done before it started to burn, and there were quite a few kernels left in the bottom. However, I am so impressed at how crisp this popcorn was without oil -- it reminded me of theater popcorn! I did add some butter after it was done popping. It was great stuff. No longer am I buying any of the unhealthy prepackaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Made this today and LOVED it! I used hierloom red popcorn kernels which pop WHITE. They popped perfectly using this method and I hardly had any unpopped kernels. I used: 1/3 cup of the red corn kernels, 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil, put in regular brown paper lunch bag, and I popped them in an 1100 wt microwave for approximately 1 minute and 40 seconds. This was so easy, and so delicious, that I don't know if I will ever go back to brand-name pre-packaged microwave popping corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebOh68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Worked like a charm with no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I filled my entire house with smoke. I was listening and it was still popping strong. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Singleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I tried this today, followed the recipe to the letter, and the bag caught fire after 1:45!!!! thumbs down, very dangerous! DO NOT ATTEMPT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've been making this popped corn for quite a while, with or without the oil, it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
we used 1/4 cup of popcorn, no oil and no salt, added that after popping. our microwave is 1100 watt and we popped it 1 minute 10 seconds, done to perfection, only had about 8 unpopped kernals. Added salt and butter after the fact. Dr. Oz said microwave popcorn has cancer causing chemicals in it.. no more of that for me, I will make this!! Tastes alot like air popped corn when you don't use oil in the bag.. really no need to add oil. Thank you for opening our eyes to a better, healthier and most of all cheaper way to enjoy popcorn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Yummy!!! Made as written....no issues and done in about 2min 30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This works great! No problems, just making a few adjustments next time. I am going to try with less oil/butter next time and 1/3 cup popcorn. I folded the top over twice and folded triangles on the corners and the bag sealed itself. 2 minutes for my microwave (around 1,000 watts). I also put the bag on its side, like MW popcorn. I had NO problems with burning or the bag opening, bottom blowing out etc, etc. I would never use staples or metal in my microwave, fear of starting a fire by arcing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS SOOOOO AWESOME I JUST TRIED AND MY DAUGHTER WAS WOWED!!!!! THANKS FOR SHARING ACONTORER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States